The W
Views: 99138483
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
22.9.14 1518
The W - Football - DirecTV Sunday Ticket - Opinions Please
This thread has 12 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 6.08
Pages: 1
(893 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (13 total)
Guru Zim
SQL Dejection
Administrator








Since: 9.12.01
From: Bay City, OR

Since last post: 10 days
Last activity: 14 hours
AIM:  
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.09
I watch a lot of football.

I watch the early game, the afternoon game, and the Sunday night game. I watch Monday night football. I generally catch more of the pre-game show than I would want to.

Should I get the DirecTV Sunday Ticket package? It's around $250 if I buy it before 7/31.

While it would be nice to get every Chargers game, I seem to get about half of them right now. I generally don't care what game I'm watching as long as I have a fantasy player in the game (which is just about every game).

I am torn. I've never had the option before. I really kind of want the 8 games on the screen at once option, but I have a feeling that might be grounds for divorce.




Sign up for Folding@Home and join our team. PM me for details.

Ignorance is bliss for you, hell for me.
Promote this thread!
David Adams
Boerewors








Since: 2.1.02
From: NJ

Since last post: 103 days
Last activity: 4 days
AIM:  
#2 Posted on
Yes. I don't have it in my condo right now, but 3 of my friends do and we rotate between houses on Sundays to watch it. The fact that you aren't at the mercy of what the networks put on in your area is justification enough, IMO.

If you are a football fan, then I would give it the highest recommendation. Since you play fantasy football and if you get into weekly pick em leagues, then there is the added benefit of being able to watch any game in which you have a rooting interest.
Zeruel
Thirty Millionth Hit
Moderator








Since: 2.1.02
From: The Silver Spring in the Land of Mary.

Since last post: 8 days
Last activity: 1 hour
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.05
Back when one of my friends had DirecTV, we'd go 50/50 on Sunday Ticket. We are in a lot of fantasy leagues and wanted to watch key games and stuff. We'd have the big screen on one game and a smaller TV watching the local Skins/Ravens games.

It was VERY nice. Especially at halftime when you can just start flipping to other games. By the time the last game has gone to the half, the first game that did is back out on the field.

You get the 8 game mix free for week 1 and while it was fun to turn to it every so often, there was too much going on to follow any one game.

The Red Zone channel is free for week 1 as well. It will switch to the game that looks like there is a score about to happen. We didn't buy that either, but it looks good for a sports bar type of setting. We were so into fantasy leagues, we'd have a laptop set to NFL.com and they would pop up with red zone warnings on their scoreboard and we'd switch to a game to watch, especially if we have players on our team from that game.

I would say to get it. I paid $125 a year for my half and I can say that I was VERY happy. My buddy doesn't get it anymore because he had to move and the Dish Network is his only option. I have Comcast and I'm about to move to Fios, so this coming season will the the first in 5 years that I won't be watching Sunday Ticket and I'm a little bummed.





-- 2006 Time magazine Person of the Year --

"Who would want to rent a chicken?" -- The Bowler
brick
Bockwurst








Since: 17.1.02
From: Pittsburgh, PA

Since last post: 508 days
Last activity: 504 days
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.00
This will be my 5th season with Sunday ticket and I love it, and my wife dispises it.

I finangled a free upgrade to the HD package last season (I don't even remember what I called to complain about). The redzone channel is great if you don't have a rooting interest in any of the games that are on, and play fantasy football.

The biggest problem I have is that I don't want to schedule anything else for 17 Sunday's in the fall so that I get my money's worth.
Lise
Mrs. Guru








Since: 11.12.01

Since last post: 388 days
Last activity: 10 days
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.40
    Originally posted by Guru Zim
    I watch a lot of football.

    It's around $250 if I buy it before 7/31.

    I have a feeling that might be grounds for divorce.


Hmm.
haz
Landjager








Since: 2.1.02
From: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

Since last post: 41 days
Last activity: 5 days
#6 Posted on
Quick Guru, call, call!!!

She didn't say no....




Look what you did
Is this who you wanted me to be?
Well it's not me
Sec19Row53
Lap cheong








Since: 2.1.02
From: Oconomowoc, WI

Since last post: 7 days
Last activity: 6 hours
Y!:
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.79
    Originally posted by haz
    Quick Guru, call, call!!!

    She didn't say no....


No, she's just trying to figure what she can get out of the deal :-)

I don't have the Ticket, because I'm at half the games (meaning I couldn't use it half the season). I think it would be outstanding to have, and I'm not a fantasy football player - it would just be cool to switch to games other than what I have to watch (excepting my team, of course).
CRZ
Big Brother
Administrator








Since: 9.12.01
From: ミネアポリス

Since last post: 23 hours
Last activity: 6 hours
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#8 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.81
What does this have to do with the NFL Network? (I should delete that thread graphic - NOBODY uses it right.)



redsoxnation
Scrapple








Since: 24.7.02

Since last post: 448 days
Last activity: 448 days
#9 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.97
    Originally posted by Guru Zim
    I watch a lot of football.

    I watch the early game, the afternoon game, and the Sunday night game. I watch Monday night football. I generally catch more of the pre-game show than I would want to.

    Should I get the DirecTV Sunday Ticket package? It's around $250 if I buy it before 7/31.

    While it would be nice to get every Chargers game, I seem to get about half of them right now. I generally don't care what game I'm watching as long as I have a fantasy player in the game (which is just about every game).

    I am torn. I've never had the option before. I really kind of want the 8 games on the screen at once option, but I have a feeling that might be grounds for divorce.




Work on a compromise: Say you want to get the Sunday Ticket plus the College Football Package. Then, you can work your way down to the Sunday Ticket, as you can usually find a dozen plus college games on a Saturday anyway. And, as a tangent, the baseball package is free, at least on digital but probably on satellite as well, from the 17th thru 23rd.

(edited by redsoxnation on 16.7.08 1906)
PeterStork
Sujuk








Since: 25.1.02
From: Chicagoland with Hoosiers, or "The Region"

Since last post: 10 days
Last activity: 2 hours
#10 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.42
    Originally posted by redsoxnation
    And, as a tangent, the baseball package is free, at least on digital but probably on satellite as well, from the 17th thru 23rd.


DirecTV has the deal as well.

Oh my...



exit 670 dot com | digital route 66
DrewDewce
Bratwurst








Since: 2.1.02
From: The Derby City

Since last post: 19 days
Last activity: 5 hours
Y!:
#11 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.15
Speaking only from my own experience of being a diehard Seattle Seahawks fan who lives in Louisville Kentucky, I can't recommend the service enough. I've missed two Seahawks games in the last 4 years (one through family commitments and one through the stupidity of someone at the local station).

Before I had to go out to local bars to watch games (and hope they would have enough screens to show the Seahawks game) which resulted in paying for food, cokes, beer, etc. If you take that $250 divided by the 17-week season, that comes out to $14.71 per week, which is at or maybe even less than I was paying on a weekly basis to go out and watch the games if I was by myself. If I had to "make" the wife go, it was even more. Staying home means cheaper food/beer/cokes/etc. It's been nice that the Seahawks have been more competetive over the past few years and get the occasional SNF or MNF slot these days which means I would have seen that game regardless, but it's just nice knowing that barring unforseen circumstances, I'll get to watch them.

And this is all before taking into consideration fantasy football considerations. It's nice to monitor the live box scores of the games not on opposite the Seahawks and flip around to watch "my" players try to score.

For me, it's worth it. For someone who gets the majority of their team games anyway, maybe not as much. I couldn't wait to move into a house, ditch cable and get DTV for just this purpose. When setting it up the DTV operator was making sure I knew this was an automatically renewing subscription and that I would have to call to cancel before the season if I didn't want it each year and I politely told her that the only way we would not keep getting this was if I was dead.

Get it.



It is a good rule in life never to apologize. The right sort of people do not want apologies, and the wrong sort take a mean advantage of them.
P. G. Wodehouse (1881 - 1975), The Man Upstairs (1914)
Lexus
Bierwurst








Since: 2.1.02
From: Stafford, VA

Since last post: 15 hours
Last activity: 16 min.
AIM:  
#12 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.13
If you're a homer, than it's not for you. I mean, you might be at the mercies of the networks and all, but if you're in a teams market and you happen to be a fervid fan of theirs, you won't necessarily need the ticket.

In our household, though, we wonder how we got along without it for so long. I get my Jets, and my roommates get their Chargers and Giants respectively.

Furthermore, you always get to jump to the big 21-21 in overtime game for some memorable gameplay, just like the Jimmy Kimmel commercials point out. If you can stand to wait and see replays on NFL network, ESPN, AND your local news, then it's a null point, but the first time the hair on the back of your neck stands up and your insides pulse as you watch something that'll be a highlight your grandchildren will be in awe of, it's worth it.



"Laugh and the world laughs with you. Frown and the world laughs at you."
-Me.
pieman
As young as
he feels








Since: 11.12.01
From: China, Maine

Since last post: 51 min.
Last activity: 51 min.
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#13 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.30


    Originally posted by Lexus
    If you're a homer, than it's not for you. I mean, you might be at the mercies of the networks and all, but if you're in a teams market and you happen to be a fervid fan of theirs, you won't necessarily need the ticket.




This is why I don't have the NFL package. As a Giants' fan, we get all their games here in Maine - as I like to say, the Giants were New England's team before these upstart youngster Patriots showed up in 1960.

Plus, I already have the baseball package and I'm not pushing my luck.




The World Champion New York Football Giants
Thread rated: 6.08
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: Jason Taylor won't be in Miami's Camp this summer
Next thread: Canadian Football League
Previous thread: Mr Jones, Mr Goodell would like a word with you.
(893 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Linky Apparently some former FSU players have been charged with robbing the home of current FSU running back Lorenzo Booker.
Related threads: Pats/Giants to NBC/CBS - Patriots-Giants game to be simulcast on CBS & NBC - Your OFFICIAL Packers @ Cowboys Nov. 29th Hype Thread...OF DOOM! - More...
The W - Football - DirecTV Sunday Ticket - Opinions PleaseRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.239 seconds.