The W
Views: 97651161
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
24.7.14 2047
The W - Pro Wrestling - Confidential 8/3 Preview (Death Of WCW)
This thread has 20 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Pages: 1(12014 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (12 total)
tomvejada
Andouille








Since: 2.1.02

Since last post: 3983 days
Last activity: 3983 days
#1 Posted on
from WWE.com:

This week, learn the inside story of how Ted Turner's WCW fell from the pinnacle of sports entertainment from the men who watched from the inside. Eric Bischoff, Chris Jericho, the Big Show, Booker T and more will give their take on WCW's demise.
Plus, if you've ever wanted to see how WWE Superstars live, now's your chance! Confidential takes you inside the home of the five-time WCW Champion, Booker T!





"Catching Hitler was neato!" "Next stop, Hirohito!"
Bart Simpson
Promote this thread!
GRL
Frankfurter








Since: 13.7.02
From: Austin

Since last post: 8 days
Last activity: 23 hours
#2 Posted on
Funny how only one of those people were there at the end of WCW. Also funny how all of them, with a possible exception in the Big Show, are doing much better for themselves in the WWE.

Dahak
Frankfurter








Since: 12.5.02
From: Junction City OR.

Since last post: 1935 days
Last activity: 1588 days
#3 Posted on
If the WWE is ever going to move Benoit up to the main event level this is a great place to start. Benoit and the other 3 defecting hurt WCW badly. But Benoit was the champ at the time and never lost the WCW title. Just tell or remind the fans of that fact. Then bring it up on SD. Of course the main event is pretty crowded right now so I doubt that they will ever do that.



I just have 13 words for you. How much wood would a woodchuch chuck if a woodchuck could chuck wood?
Lotty
Chourico








Since: 23.3.02
From: Bay Area

Since last post: 3275 days
Last activity: 2548 days
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 0.00

    Originally posted by Dahak
    But Benoit was the champ at the time and never lost the WCW title. Just tell or remind the fans of that fact.


There is no way in hell the casual fan is going to care about this. The WCW title has been so tarnished now that nobody cares.



"Big Daddy Cool, ha, more like BIG DADDY BITCH."

"Oh my gosh...it can't be...Goldberg...is...NEW BLOOD!"
Super Shane Spear
Bierwurst








Since: 2.1.02
From: Sector 7 Slums

Since last post: 1501 days
Last activity: 1501 days
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.08
Screw the main story. We get to see the inside of the five-time WCW champ's home. I wonder if he nails a pair of gloves on the wall after every spinaroonie, like Willie Mays Hayes.



Dahak
Frankfurter








Since: 12.5.02
From: Junction City OR.

Since last post: 1935 days
Last activity: 1588 days
#6 Posted on
Lotty I agree that the WCW title is pretty much meaningless. But if they said that the loss of Benoit was the begining of the end of WCW that would make Benoit seem important. Shit Hogan is still the WCW champ along with Benoit if you want to be technical and I am not saying there should be a Hogan/Benoit feud. What Vince should do is have the balls to say that getting rid of Hart is what let the WWF become #1 again. Even though that is true it takes an awful lot of explanation so I guess it's not a good idea.



I just have 13 words for you. How much wood would a woodchuch chuck if a woodchuck could chuck wood?
Jakegnosis
Morcilla








Since: 26.7.02
From: Maine

Since last post: 2770 days
Last activity: 2754 days
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.91
I don't think Benoit never losing the WCW title is very important to anyone at this point. Why can't he get in the main event because he's... a really good wrestler?



Moo hoo ha ha.

Rangers lead the way
Kei Posiskunk
Kolbasz








Since: 7.1.02
From: Central PA, USA

Since last post: 52 days
Last activity: 2 days
#8 Posted on
I still don't understand why absolutely everyone seems to think that Benoit is the obvious ultimate answer to everything and that if they'd just give him the title and let him dominate every other wrestler in the fed that everything would turn around for the WWE and world peace would form and everyone would love each other and blah, blah, blah.

Is everyone afraid they'll lose their Smark Card if they don't verbally fellate the Gap-Toothed robot every chance they get? What about the way that Kurt Angle has carried the entire company on his back since nearly the first time he showed up on TV?

But Deity forbid I insinuate that Benoit isn't perfect or that Angle might be better.

There is no God, only Benoit.

Standing in line with his head bowed like a good little Benoit Mark, Kitsune
Jakegnosis
Morcilla








Since: 26.7.02
From: Maine

Since last post: 2770 days
Last activity: 2754 days
#9 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.91
Whoa there, hero. You'll give yourself an ulcer. I'm not saying anything about Angle here- he is, in my opinion, just as good as Benoit, if not better, but Angle is one of the top guys in the company and has spent a good amount of time with the title belt, whereas Benoit hasn't gotten a chance to wear the strap yet. If you actually watch WWE, you'd know that Benoit puts on fantastic matches, and I personally think that should earn him a spot as a top guy in the WWE.

And, hey, I'm an Angle mark, too, but he's hardly carried the company on his back since he came on TV. That's a ridiculous statement. You think people tuned in to see Angle more than they did Austin, Rocky or the Undertaker? You can verbally fellate Angle all you want, but try to make truthful statements. There's plenty of great shit about Angle to praise without telling stories.



Moo hoo ha ha.

Rangers lead the way
spf
Scrapple








Since: 2.1.02
From: The Las Vegas of Canada

Since last post: 13 days
Last activity: 1 day
AIM:  
#10 Posted on
Quoth Jake "You think people tuned in to see Angle more than they did Austin, Rocky or the Undertaker?"

Actually, while I would be willing to give you the first two, I would seriously doubt more people were tuning in to see the Undertaker than Kurt Angle over the last 12 months. While I'm not going to say no one cares about watching UT (some poor deluded souls still do, god help them), seems to me people like to hate Angle's character more than anyone elses, which I think helps pull in the viewers.



You never know when you'll meet that special someone... the someone that's mysteriously blind to your flaws. or, you know, stupid enough not to realize that yes, you really are that cynical.
TheBucsFan
TheChiefsFan








Since: 2.1.02

Since last post: 13 hours
Last activity: 8 hours
#11 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.42
While people tune in to see the faces, it's often the heels who make the show entertaining.



Mean Gene: "You know, I don't think it's a question - Goldberg, I don't think it's a question of who's next, I think it's a question of who's left?"
Goldberg: "No, see, that's where you're wrong. It ain't who's left, it's - WHO'S NEXT?"

"Just how hardcore am I? Well this morning, I drank milk that was two days past the expiration!"
-Norman Smiley

"She is one of them! She's CANADIAN!"
-Stevie Ray
The Thrill
Banger








Since: 16.4.02
From: Green Bay, WI

Since last post: 99 days
Last activity: 84 days
#12 Posted on

    Originally posted by Super Shane Spear
    Screw the main story. We get to see the inside of the five-time WCW champ's home. I wonder if he nails a pair of gloves on the wall after every spinaroonie, like Willie Mays Hayes.



The September 1998 issue of WCW/nWo magazine (which also doubled as the "program" for an August 22, 1998 house show here in Green Bay) had a feature, "At Home with Booker T," featuring Book's car, pool table, dogs, polishing a set of his boots, and a Madden '98 for PlayStation duel with his then-14-year-old son, Brandon.

Sadly, despite the virtual Troy Aikman getting knocked out in the 1st half, Booker's Cowboys beat Brandon's Packers, 43-13. *sigh*

Lucky for me that magazine also buried a treasure in-between all the "letters to the editor" from uber-marks...a picture of Spice in a leopard-print bikini top and shorts, high heels...and holding a cat o'nine tails whip. Yeah, baby!



Star wipe, and...we're out.
Thrillin' ain't easy.

.
.
THE THRILL
ACW-TV/Home Video Technical Director Emeritus...and A2NWO 4 Life!
Pages: 1Thread ahead: your DEATH VALLEY DRIVER JOSHI 100 Update for Aug, 2002!
Next thread: Velocity...
Previous thread: I've solved the mystery! (HUGE spoilerz)
(12014 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Yeah, the audience and the sounds did sound a little off...and in the long views, one side of the ring seemed to be much fuller than the other..slight shades of WCW?
- Punkinhed, Sunday Night Heat (2002)
Related threads: Confidential 7/27 thoughts - Defining Moment - Nowinski's ex-teammate punked him out (Confidential spoiler) - More...
The W - Pro Wrestling - Confidential 8/3 Preview (Death Of WCW)Register and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.419 seconds.