The W
Views: 95761253
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
23.4.14 1214
The W - Music - Concert Review - Wolfsheim: Casting Shadows Tour
This thread has 87 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 5.48
Pages: 1
(2158 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (5 total)
Cerebus
Knackwurst








Since: 17.11.02

Since last post: 7 days
Last activity: 9 hours
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.74
For those that don't know, Wolfsheim is a synthpop group from Germany. This was their first show in America and the first show for them on this leg of the tour.

One of the worst things that can happen at a show is for the group to be late when they are supposed to be the only act playing. The show was supposed to start a 8pm and the band were STILL at the airport. Luckily, a good promoter always plans ahead and he was able to get an opening act together and on stage in 20minutes. Glitter Guns is a local band, needless to say, but they have played across the nation and have a somewhat decent following. The best way to describe them is to imagine a mediocre David Bowie impersonator becoming the lead singer for Bauhaus. The highlight of their set was a cover of Elton John's 'Tiny Dancer' which produced many boos and people throwing stuff on stage.

Wolfsheim finally arrived and came out around 9:45. Huge reaction from the 5000+ audience that came from as far as New Orleans to see this group. Peter Heppner and Markus Reinhardt are the main group, but usually, for live shows, they have a drummer and a bassist accompany them. The drum kit and guitar were there, but no one was using them. About 5 songs into the set, they joined the group on stage.

After the second song, Peter, the singer, paused a moment and said "thank you". Normally, this doesn't really mean anything, but the expression on his face, the awe comming from him at the surprise of the large turn out they had, made me think it was a wholesomely genuine statement. At times, you could even see that he was blushing from the audience reaction they were getting.

My only real let down was that they didn not perform thier cover of Kenny Rogers' 'Ruby, Don't take Your Love to Town'. After two encores, they ended up playing for 1hr50min, Most bands can't play half that time and still keep the audience enthralled the way these guys did.

If you enjoy music that isn't guitar heavy and you see they are playing in your area during this tour, you should go. Tickets were $18 in advance and $20 at the door. Here's a list of the tour dates...

08.05.2004 - London - Mean Fiddler (Tickets)
05.04.2004 - San Francisco (US) - Death Guild (Tickets)
04.04.2004 - Los Angeles (US) - Henry Fonda Music Box Theatre (Tickets)
02.04.2004 - San Antonio (US) - Sin 13
31.03.2004 - Denver (US) - Gothic Theatre
29.03.2004 - St. Louis - The Kastle
28.03.2004 - Chicago (US) - Metro
27.03.2004 - Detroit (US) - Leland City Club (Tickets)
26.03.2004 - Boston (US) - Manray
24.03.2004 - New York City (US) - Webster Hall
22.03.2004 - Atlanta (US) - The Masquerade
21.03.2004 - Tampa (US) - The Masquerade



Cerebus: RIP 1977-2004.

"What do you think it's like being created by a manic-depressive, paranoid schizophrenic, hypochondriac, misogynist with delusions of grandeur and a messiah complex?"
Promote this thread!
CRZ
Big Brother
Administrator








Since: 9.12.01
From: ミネアポリス

Since last post: 13 hours
Last activity: 9 hours
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.65
    Originally posted by Cerebus
    05.04.2004 - San Francisco (US) - Death Guild (Tickets)

http://www.deathguild.com/calendar.html

A MONDAY?!? I'd love to go but that's a WORK night. And I'm old.

(Aw man, Kim missed a RASPUTINA release party :-P )

Hey Cerebus, do they have a US deal or what? I must confess I've never heard of 'em, though a quick scan of www.wolfsheim.de seems to indicate they've been around like 15 years or something. Naturally I'll keep doing my own reasearch and check allmusic.com, but I'd love to hear your own opinions as well.



CRZ
Ruby Trax
Summer sausage








Since: 10.12.01
From: The KZiM Tower

Since last post: 1839 days
Last activity: 1156 days
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.25
There is no such thing as "missing" a Rasputina anything.



I am made of blue sky and golden light, and I will feel this way forever. Drums.
Cerebus
Knackwurst








Since: 17.11.02

Since last post: 7 days
Last activity: 9 hours
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.74
Hmm... my own opinions.

Well, for a group of this type to have be around for so long without a US record deal, that ought to tell you something right there. They are one of the few groups that have stayed consistent their whole career with not one bad CD yet. Think Erasure or Pet Shop Boys with out all the flash or up-beatiness. Hell, I lave Erasure and Wolfsheim blows them away.

You'll probably have to special order their stuff from a indy store, due to the now US deal as yet, but it's well worth it. Try getting SPECTATORS or NO HAPPY VIEW.

If you go ANOTHER route and just want to hear some of their stuff first before buying anything, look for these songs, as they are the stand out singles got them world wide recognition; 'Once in a Lifetime', 'Kuenstliche Welten', 'Sparrows and the Nightingales', 'Heroin, She Said', and the EXCELLENT 'Ruby, Don't Take Your Love to Town'.

Sadly, like a lot of foreign groups, their songs do not translate well into English. One of their best songs and their first released single, SPARROWS AND THE NIGHTINGALES, reads like possible the worst written song ever, featuring the chorus line...

'and god is on your side
dividing presence from our history
watching all the time
dividing deaf men from the listening ones'

...ARRRGH! Every time I think about that, I want to rip my hair out. Luckily, after the show, I was able to talk with them and idiot me HAD to ask if it was a bad translation or was it really written like that, to which I got the reply "I was 16 when I wrote the song and we just recorded it as is." They were very gracious and humble, and I STILL HATE that fucking chorus!



Cerebus: RIP 1977-2004.

"What do you think it's like being created by a manic-depressive, paranoid schizophrenic, hypochondriac, misogynist with delusions of grandeur and a messiah complex?"
Omar Padilla
Chourico








Since: 3.1.02

Since last post: 656 days
Last activity: 655 days
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.00
I've got my ticket for their Los Angeles show. This is going to be my first concert by a 'major' act. I deplore concerts, but this being the first time that Wolfsheim was going to be in the U.S. I thought I would do my part in having them come back sometime.

CRZ, check out http://www.industrial-music.com/

Wolfsheim has a deal with Metropolis Records (who distributes their music in the U.S.) as do most industrial/synthpop/EBM acts.

Their most popular release was SPECTATORS, with the addictingly catchy song 'Once In A Lifetime'.

Their lastest release CASTING SHADOWS is probably my favorite, so this release, along with SPECTATORS, would be your best bets.
Thread rated: 5.48
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: Van Halen w/ Sammy is official
Next thread: Bret Michaels SELLS OUT
Previous thread: Fear Factory
(2158 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
It is indeed sad. Boston made some good music and had a nice run. But Hall of Fame? There are a lot who need to go in way before Boston. Of course didn't Van Halen go in.
The W - Music - Concert Review - Wolfsheim: Casting Shadows TourRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.116 seconds.