The W
Views: 99002234
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
18.9.14 0859
The W - Random - CD Review: David Cross - It's not funny
This thread has 53 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 5.01
Pages: 1 2 Next
(1356 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (25 total)
asteroidboy
Andouille








Since: 22.1.02
From: Texas

Since last post: 1394 days
Last activity: 302 days
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.95

If you were introduced everyone's favorite Southern-born disenfranchised Jewish kid in HBO's "Mr. Show," or comedy specials like "The Pride is Back," or 2002's fantastic "Shut up, you fucking baby!" prepare to be disappointed by his latest offering.

David Cross has the unenviable task of trying to follow up a classic comedy album in SUYFB. He took risks, spoke out against the herd mentality and the nationalism that were plaguing America after 9/11. And it paid off, big time. His new album is nowhere near the focused blast of lefty, God-and-Bush-hating anger at the moral majority that runs this country. Which is too bad, because we could use the perspective.

The problem with this CD is that many of his bits have promise, but aren't fully formed. Early on, he launches into Paris Hilton on "The Simple Life." He set up the table nicely, pointing out that people put up with these rich brats simply because of their wealth. And calling her and Nicole Richie "cunts" will ALWAYS get a laugh. But he can't follow it up. Cross starts off with some nice jabs, but can't connect with the power punches. Therefore, motherfuckers don't get knocked out. And that's a shame, because we KNOW he's got that ability.

At one point he starts ripping on pop trash like Evanesence, POD, Staind, Creed, et all. But there's no payoff. Cross dismisses them with, "Sorry, I don't listen to shitty music. I don't watch shitty movies, either."

Okay, we know they're shitty, but tell us WHY they're shitty. That's your job. I was practically BEGGING him to blast Scott Stapp with both shotgun barrels, but Cross holds back. If he truly is the modern-day Bill Hicks, as some have labeled him, Cross has gotta shoot, reload, and shoot again, until all of the manufactured pop-culture demons foisted on us by corporate America lie in bloody ruins.

Or his bit on the fat lady who worked at New York, New York, in Las Vegas and tried to co-copt the pain of 9/11 survivors. There's promise there, but ultimately the joke fails. That's pretty much the case for this whole CD.

This was recorded in Washington, D.C. in early 2004. And it shows. Many of the bits are dated: the Trent Lott and Strom Thurmond fiasco, Tom Ridge urging us to buy plastic sheeting and duct tape, Bush telling us that "the terrorists hate our freedom." Cross comes across too much like a left-wing pundit and not enough like a comedian. He's just bitching for bitching's sake. Get a couple of beers down your favorite liberal on a Friday night and you'll hear the same stuff.

And some stuff is just out-and-out recycled. Cross already covered Catholic priest-fucking in SUYFB, in a bit that would make even hard-core atheists squirm. There's no need to revisit that territory here, especially if you're just offering a reheated version.

There were some minor successes, like his opener about hating kids and how hard it is to talk a girlfriend into three consecutive abortions. That approached the classic, irreverent David Cross that we love. He also employs the "n-word" to mock Southern racists, with mixed success.

Ultimately, the act seemed a little rushed, like he needed another year to polish it. And it's definitely not worth putting on CD. There are some chuckles on here, but no gut laughs.

My biggest laugh was at back photo - which showed a young Cross holding a prized fish. He's an "A" student that brought home "C's" on his report card. You still love the guy, but have to shake your head, 'cause you're a little disappointed.

(edited by asteroidboy on 3.6.04 1220)

(edited by asteroidboy on 3.6.04 1221)

-- Asteroid Boy


Wiener of the day: 23.7.02, 3.12.03

"In addition, my tickets werenít really what youíd expect from the webmaster of the internetís largest independent pro-wrestling website." - Widro

"My brother saw the Undertaker walking through an airport." - Rex
"Was he no-selling?" - Me


Promote this thread!
dwaters
Lap cheong








Since: 16.10.02
From: Connecticut

Since last post: 3 days
Last activity: 1 day
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.73
"There were some minor successes, like his opener about hating kids and how hard it is to talk a girlfriend into three consecutive abortions."


????
Sounds like a laugh riot. (sarcasm)
Hogan's My Dad
Andouille








Since: 8.6.02
From: Canada

Since last post: 16 days
Last activity: 16 days
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.22
I like my comedy to be a little more creative than calling rich girls "cunts", which is a disgusting and not remotely funny word IMO. Cross has his moments but there are just some comedians who use language that takes me out of a mindset where I feel I can be entertained. Andrew Dice Clay's the other one.



I'd tell you to kiss my ass, but I don't want to get it infected.
asteroidboy
Andouille








Since: 22.1.02
From: Texas

Since last post: 1394 days
Last activity: 302 days
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.95
Granted, he's not for everyone. Maybe these comics would be more to your tastes:

Click Here (amazon.com)

Click Here (amazon.com)

Click Here (amazon.com)

Click Here (amazon.com)



-- Asteroid Boy


Wiener of the day: 23.7.02, 3.12.03

"In addition, my tickets werenít really what youíd expect from the webmaster of the internetís largest independent pro-wrestling website." - Widro

"My brother saw the Undertaker walking through an airport." - Rex
"Was he no-selling?" - Me


JustinShapiro
Scrapple
Moderator








Since: 12.12.01
From: Pittsburgh, PA

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 11 hours
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.61
The swearing kind of bugs me too. Maybe it's just because DC is so ... mean ... and I'm wanting him to be the kind gentle Dr. Tobias FŁnke.

Similarly, I thought a lot of the material in Lewis Black's recent special was really good, but the profane stuff just got, like, distracting. He rode "fuck" into the ground hard -- it's a pretty funny word but somehow he made it not funny at all! Plus it got so annoying when every bit always has to end with STICKING something DIRECTLY UP, MY ASS! I know he's intense! and pissed off! but the jokes are good enough that they don't need augmented by constant pointless profanity (as opposed to well-placed, welcome, funny profanity).

My favorite guy is Dane Cook!!!!!! and also Mitch Hedberg.

(edited by JMShapiro on 3.6.04 1501)
Hogan's My Dad
Andouille








Since: 8.6.02
From: Canada

Since last post: 16 days
Last activity: 16 days
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.21
    Originally posted by asteroidboy
    Granted, he's not for everyone. Maybe these comics would be more to your tastes:

    Click Here (amazon.com)

    Click Here (amazon.com)

    Click Here (amazon.com)

    Click Here (amazon.com)


Ya don't have to INSULT me. I just don't like people who say "cunt". Even Richard Pryor avoided that bad boy. Dave Chappelle is good too, because while he does curse it's not every other word. Cross isn't that bad, mind you, but he just makes me uncomfortable with some of his material.





I'd tell you to kiss my ass, but I don't want to get it infected.
asteroidboy
Andouille








Since: 22.1.02
From: Texas

Since last post: 1394 days
Last activity: 302 days
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.95
    Originally posted by Hogan's My Dad
      Originally posted by asteroidboy
      Granted, he's not for everyone. Maybe these comics would be more to your tastes:

      Click Here (amazon.com)

      Click Here (amazon.com)

      Click Here (amazon.com)

      Click Here (amazon.com)


    Ya don't have to INSULT me. I just don't like people who say "cunt". Even Richard Pryor avoided that bad boy. Dave Chappelle is good too, because while he does curse it's not every other word. Cross isn't that bad, mind you, but he just makes me uncomfortable with some of his material.




I agree, it's the worst thing you can call someone. And if someone used it in conversation, I wouldn't like it either. In the context of a comedy show, it doesn't bother me, but your mileage may vary.

Swearing is basically laziness. Guys like Mitch Hedberg and Eddie Izzard have GREAT acts and don't have to rely on blue language.

But other guys did "dirty shows" (Hicks, Sam Kinnison, I think Redd Fox), and I don't think it detracted from their brilliance. I guess it's more of a question of sensibilities.



-- Asteroid Boy


Wiener of the day: 23.7.02, 3.12.03

"In addition, my tickets werenít really what youíd expect from the webmaster of the internetís largest independent pro-wrestling website." - Widro

"My brother saw the Undertaker walking through an airport." - Rex
"Was he no-selling?" - Me


CRZ
Big Brother
Administrator








Since: 9.12.01
From: „Éü„Éć„āĘ„ÉĚ„É™„āĻ

Since last post: 16 hours
Last activity: 7 hours
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#8 Posted on | Instant Rating: 9.07
    Originally posted by JMShapiro
    Plus it got so annoying when every bit always has to end with STICKING something DIRECTLY UP, MY ASS! <laughter>
Wait. You don't like The Rock?



©CRZô
JustinShapiro
Scrapple
Moderator








Since: 12.12.01
From: Pittsburgh, PA

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 11 hours
#9 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.61
Totally different: The Rock makes me want, need, beg to have something shined up real nice and stuck straight up someone's candy ass. Lewis Black has no such powers, he's just yelling.
Torchslasher
Knackwurst








Since: 17.1.02
From: New F'n Jersey

Since last post: 10 days
Last activity: 10 hours
#10 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.75
    Originally posted by asteroidboy
      Originally posted by Hogan's My Dad
        Originally posted by asteroidboy
        Granted, he's not for everyone. Maybe these comics would be more to your tastes:

        Click Here (amazon.com)

        Click Here (amazon.com)

        Click Here (amazon.com)

        Click Here (amazon.com)


      Ya don't have to INSULT me. I just don't like people who say "cunt". Even Richard Pryor avoided that bad boy. Dave Chappelle is good too, because while he does curse it's not every other word. Cross isn't that bad, mind you, but he just makes me uncomfortable with some of his material.




    I agree, it's the worst thing you can call someone. And if someone used it in conversation, I wouldn't like it either. In the context of a comedy show, it doesn't bother me, but your mileage may vary.

    Swearing is basically laziness. Guys like Mitch Hedberg and Eddie Izzard have GREAT acts and don't have to rely on blue language.

    But other guys did "dirty shows" (Hicks, Sam Kinnison, I think Redd Fox), and I don't think it detracted from their brilliance. I guess it's more of a question of sensibilities.


Apparently you haven't seen Mitch Hedberg on New Year's Eve in Philly. He swore up and down. I was also given Hedberg's DVD/CD and he does the same thing. I don't know about Eddie Izzard (loved him in The Cat's Meow), but Mitch certainly doesn't usually work "clean."



Joe Wilson (looking at Interocitor manual)- Hey, here's something my wife could use in the house...
Crow T. Robot- A man?
Joe Wilson- An interocitor incorporating an electron sorter.
Cal Meechum- Oh, she'd probably gain 20 pounds while it did all the work for her.
Tom Servo- Cal, you bitch!

MST3K: The Movie
Captain_12_Pack
Polska kielbasa








Since: 10.3.03
From: Elmwood, IL

Since last post: 3025 days
Last activity: 1 day
#11 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.48
    Originally posted by dwaters
    "There were some minor successes, like his opener about hating kids and how hard it is to talk a girlfriend into three consecutive abortions."


    ????
    Sounds like a laugh riot. (sarcasm)


Actually, with the right comic and the right delivery, bits about abortion can be funny. I saw Doug Stanhope do a bit about his wife having an abortion and I laughed my ass off all three times I saw it (I saw four Stanhope shows--I work at a comedy club in Bettendorf, Iowa--Penguin's), because it was just so well done.





Whatever you want, Birthday Boy!
hansen9j
Andouille








Since: 7.11.02
From: Riderville, SK

Since last post: 23 hours
Last activity: 11 hours
#12 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.54
I've heard the CD in question, and trust me, his delivery is perfect. Doesn't someone here have it as their signature in fact?



Idle hands spend time at the genitals, and you know how much God hates that
dwaters
Lap cheong








Since: 16.10.02
From: Connecticut

Since last post: 3 days
Last activity: 1 day
#13 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.57
I still don't know how he could make the topic of abortion funny, I guess I would have to hear it myself.
I didn't think you could make the Holocaust funny, till I saw the "Seinfeld" episode where Jerry and his girlfriend were busted for making out during "Schindler's List".

As far as the "C" word, I don't even think South Park has touched that, and they do NAMBLA jokes.

I think David Cross played "Slow Donny" ( a "Eugene" ancestor )
on "Just Shoot Me"---one of the funniest sitcom episodes ever.

samoflange
Lap cheong








Since: 22.2.04
From: Cambridge, MA

Since last post: 336 days
Last activity: 329 days
#14 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.76
    Originally posted by dwaters
    As far as the "C" word, I don't even think South Park has touched that, and they do NAMBLA jokes.


South Park has used C--- a helluva lot of times. Not that I can rattle each instance off, but it definately has been used.



Lloyd: When I met Mary, I got that old fashioned romantic feeling, where I'd do anything to bone her.
Harry: That's a special feeling.

"Jericho tries for the Walls of Jericho early on, but it is blocked by mysterious rays from Shawn Michaels while a message on the Titantron says, 'This move is mine now.' "
-RAW Satire, 05.10.04
OlFuzzyBastard
Knackwurst








Since: 28.4.02
From: Pittsburgh, PA

Since last post: 6 days
Last activity: 6 days
AIM:  
#15 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.93
I remember Stan trying win back Wendy by having Jimmy tell her she's "a continued source of inspiration", and I don't think I need to tell you where he got stuck.



"Hereís a little song I wrote the other day while I was out duck hunting with a judgeÖ Itís a new song, itís dedicated to the FCC and if they broadcast it, it will cost a quarter of a million dollars.'
---Eric Idle
dwaters
Lap cheong








Since: 16.10.02
From: Connecticut

Since last post: 3 days
Last activity: 1 day
#16 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.57
Of course, how could I forget ?! Jimmy tried to say "Continued...."? over and over......
The Vile1
Lap cheong








Since: 4.9.02
From: California

Since last post: 1977 days
Last activity: 1709 days
#17 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.65
If I remember correctly, David Cross has been in quite more than his own fair share of shitty movies. Can you say...SCARY MOVIE 2? Or how about Pootie Tang? Small Soldiers? Men In Black 2 . I'm not a big fan of Melvin Goes To Dinner, but for those interested, he has a scene in it as a life counselor.




"Just a humble bounty hunter, ma'am."
-Spike Spiegel
bubblesthechimp
Boudin rouge








Since: 22.3.02
From: Weymouth, Ma

Since last post: 17 days
Last activity: 14 hours
#18 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.85
    Originally posted by The Vile1
    If I remember correctly, David Cross has been in quite more than his own fair share of shitty movies. Can you say...SCARY MOVIE 2? Or how about Pootie Tang? Small Soldiers? Men In Black 2 . I'm not a big fan of Melvin Goes To Dinner, but for those interested, he has a scene in it as a life counselor.


C'mon why you gotta hate on the Pootie Tang?!



Doobie, Doobie, Doo...
Spaceman Spiff
Knackwurst








Since: 2.1.02
From: Philly Suburbs

Since last post: 22 days
Last activity: 54 min.
AIM:  
#19 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.05
He played 2 different characters in NewsRadio, too.



asteroidboy
Andouille








Since: 22.1.02
From: Texas

Since last post: 1394 days
Last activity: 302 days
#20 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.95

He also starred in "Run, Ronnie Run," which I think was straight to video. Based on a recurring character in the Mr. Show series.

It was a mildly funny movie, the highlight (ironically) being Jack Black's hilarious "Give her a kick in the cunt!" chimmney sweep musical routine. I DEFY you to watch that movie and tell me that wasn't funny.



(edited by asteroidboy on 4.6.04 1449)


-- Asteroid Boy


Wiener of the day: 23.7.02, 3.12.03

"In addition, my tickets werenít really what youíd expect from the webmaster of the internetís largest independent pro-wrestling website." - Widro

"My brother saw the Undertaker walking through an airport." - Rex
"Was he no-selling?" - Me


Pages: 1 2 Next
Thread rated: 5.01
Pages: 1 2 Next
Thread ahead: Harry P. thoughts (Spoilers of course)
Next thread: Belmont Stakes
Previous thread: The Aviator Trailer Hits The Web
(1356 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
The Two Great Tastes... Over the years it seems that LEGO sets sold in stores have skimped on imagination while giving a much wider bearth to brand placement. At the same time, the places that enthusiasts have taken the product never cease to amaze me.
- Fletch, LEGO's 9th (2002)
The W - Random - CD Review: David Cross - It's not funnyRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.176 seconds.