The W
Views: 95680068
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
20.4.14 0554
The W - Random - BOOZE review - An old man's pub crawl
This thread has 22 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 7.04
Pages: 1
(1749 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (8 total)
pieman
As young as
he feels








Since: 11.12.01
From: China, Maine

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 1 day
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.21

So, the piewife and another nameless couple decided to foist our collective five children on unsuspecting relatives for the weekend. We stayed at a ritzy hotel (The Regency for those that know the area)in the Old Port of Portland, Maine, so that we didn't have to have no stinking designated driver. Channeling DEAN, my mentor, we began the crawling at 3 PM. We started at a Mexican watering hole called Amigo's that I frequented daily when I first graduated from college. (Brief aside - my first year out of college - 1982 - I got a job that paid $15,000 per year and spent every cent on alcohol and concerts.)

So, at this Mexican place, I tried a Long Trail Ale. It was pretty nice, actually, and a good one to start with. They were only $2.50 a pint since it was Happy Hour, so I was happy. Ten minutes later when I was still thirsty we realized that the Pabst Blue Ribbons were only $1.25 per pint, we started drinking those. You don't need any advanced math degrees to figure out the economics of that one, mister. At this point I also realized that the guys sitting at the bar probably were not born the last time I had a beer at Amigo's.

We next went to an Irish Bar named Ri Ra's, something about it meaning King and Greatness or some such nonsense. The special there was Shipyard Export Something or Other. Didn't matter. As it turns out, the wife of the other couple we were with has a cousin who manages this bar. Soooo, free beer! We met this English guy named John and he said Guinness is consumed cold. I think there was some discussion about that here or at DVDVR. My wife had the Guinness - ghastly if you ask me. Oh, the review of the other beer - it was free.

We then went to Gritty McDuff's Brewpub. It was then we realized that we were really old (and drunk). So, back to the streets. What happened next I can honestly say I have never done in my 44 years on earth. We decided it would be cheaper to buy more beer and drink it in the hotel room since we had paid for this expensive flophouse. We go up to a policeman on the corner and ask him where we ought to buy beer. I guess when you get old you don't really care what people think about you.

Well to end this long story, I never did really review any of the things that we drank. Well, most of it was cheap of free, so it was excellent in my book. And there's a reason 44 year old guys with three kids don't do this pub crawling thing very often.






Gabba Gabba Hey!


Promote this thread!
Whitebacon
Boudin blanc








Since: 12.1.02
From: Fresno, CA

Since last post: 13 days
Last activity: 4 days
AIM:  
ICQ:  
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.59
Ever had Fat Tire ( www.fattire.com )? Dean? Bueller? Bueller?

I bought a sixer of it the other night and found it to be spectacular.





In the context of baseball, the use of drugs hurts only the player. In the context of baseball, the use of alcohol hurts only the player. In the context of baseball, womanizing hurts whom? Maybe the wife of the player? In the context of baseball, felonies are crimes against society, not against baseball. In the context of baseball, gambling is the only crime against baseball.

Gambling, in the context of baseball, is a capital offense and Rose has richly earned-- hell, he agreed to-- his death sentence. Let him hang.

Bob Kohm, co-owner of Rotojunkies.com (rotojunkies.com) , and a large market kind of guy.
DrOp
Frankfurter








Since: 2.1.02

Since last post: 2048 days
Last activity: 915 days
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.23
Pieman said:

    And there's a reason 44 year old guys with three kids don't do this pub crawling thing very often.



That sounds like a personal challenge for Dean in a few years, PiePoppa.

Please don't do this often as you know I worry about my old venerable friends from time to time... ;-)

(edited by DrOp on 1.3.04 1254)


And Marking Out
Slashwrestling.com
Wienerville
drjayphd
Scrapple
Moderator








Since: 22.4.02
From: Connecticut

Since last post: 23 days
Last activity: 2 days
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.55
You wanted the best, you got... Out of Context Quote of the Week.

"This coming from the man with the YOU EAT COCK in his signature." (StaggerLee)


    Originally posted by Whitebacon
    Ever had Fat Tire ( www.fattire.com )? Dean? Bueller? Bueller?

    I bought a sixer of it the other night and found it to be spectacular.


I'll back you up on it. Too bad the only time I can probably have it is when I go visit my brother... they need to get that shit on this coast.



DEAN's Nuggets of Wisdom:

"A-Train could wear a Vampirella outfit and I would toast a load to it."
DJ FrostyFreeze
Knackwurst








Since: 2.1.02
From: Hawthorne, CA

Since last post: 3 days
Last activity: 7 hours
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.95

    Originally posted by pieman
    We go up to a policeman on the corner and ask him where we ought to buy beer. I guess when you get old you don't really care what people think about you.
So you're already drunk. And in public. And you walk up to a COP and ask him where you can find MORE beer??

pieman = HARDCORE. I bow at your fearless feet, good sir.



You heard me, fella
Baby got snacks
Bullitt
Shot in the dark








Since: 11.1.02
From: Houston

Since last post: 337 days
Last activity: 5 days
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.02
Ah, Amigo's! Es muy bueno.

Ah, Gritty McDuff's! I have a Gritty's Black Fly Ale tshirt kicking around here somewhere.

This party should have started out at the Great Lost Bear, then made its way into the Old Port. Is the Old Port Tavern still open?

I remember the days when Portland shut down at 1am. You'd struggle to get over to Denny's by the 295. If you were lucky, you'd stay up long enough to eat breakfast at the Home Plate back in the Old Port, then stumble up the hill to Clark St. and finally pass out...good times. Thanks for the memories, pieman!



Making it Happen Since 1971 (agentzero.blogspot.com)
emma
Cherries > Peaches








Since: 1.8.02
From: Phoenix-ish

Since last post: 25 days
Last activity: 1 day
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.47
    Originally posted by Whitebacon
    Ever had Fat Tire ( www.fattire.com )? Dean? Bueller? Bueller?

    I bought a sixer of it the other night and found it to be spectacular.
They (at least used to) have Fat Tire on tap at America West Arena. (Possibly also Bank One Ballpark, but don't quote me on that part.) I have one friend who lives for the stuff, & another who insists that the first one is wonderful & every subsequent one gives you an exponentially increasing headache. Caveat drinktor.

(Uh, am I the only one who gets redirected to an unexpected webpage from that URL? I'm thinking you meant something more like http://www.newbelgium.com/beer_fattire.shtml .)

(edited by emma on 1.3.04 1841)
Whitebacon
Boudin blanc








Since: 12.1.02
From: Fresno, CA

Since last post: 13 days
Last activity: 4 days
AIM:  
ICQ:  
#8 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.59
Whoops. I was kinda drunk when I visited the website the first time. I guess that explains my lack of memory on the subject. Thank you Emma.





In the context of baseball, the use of drugs hurts only the player. In the context of baseball, the use of alcohol hurts only the player. In the context of baseball, womanizing hurts whom? Maybe the wife of the player? In the context of baseball, felonies are crimes against society, not against baseball. In the context of baseball, gambling is the only crime against baseball.

Gambling, in the context of baseball, is a capital offense and Rose has richly earned-- hell, he agreed to-- his death sentence. Let him hang.

Bob Kohm, co-owner of Rotojunkies.com (rotojunkies.com) , and a large market kind of guy.
Thread rated: 7.04
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: Taco Bell commercial...all-white meat chicken?
Next thread: 24th Annual Razzies announced
Previous thread: Tigershack
(1749 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Told ya...
The W - Random - BOOZE review - An old man's pub crawlRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.154 seconds.