The W
Views: 100269840
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
31.10.14 0850
The W - Baseball - Baseball scoring question
This thread has 5 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 5.21
Pages: 1
(68 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (5 total)
Eddie Famous
Andouille








Since: 11.12.01
From: Catlin IL

Since last post: 342 days
Last activity: 336 days
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.98

This actually happened in a jr. pony league game I was in. Bases loaded, no out. A flyball is going to drop between the 2B and RF. Man on 3d is scoring, I was on 2nd and saw it was going to fall so I was "running" and was going to score. The ball bounced away from the fielders. The man from first beats a bad throw to home. The batter is coming home too, safely, but is called out by the home plate ump invoking "Infield Fly". So how does this go in the scorebook?



Sports Director Neuhoff Media Danville, IL
WDAN - K-ROCK - D-102

Announcer for Heritage Wrestling Television
Interim CEO Heritage Wrestling Coalition
Promote this thread!
Vgmastr
Cotechino








Since: 3.12.03
From: Neenah, WI

Since last post: 3 days
Last activity: 1 hour
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.61
The fielder closest to the ball gets credit with the put out, runners advance at their own risk. That said, it should only be called on a sure out, not a blooper that falls in between the infielders and outfielders. Based on the situation you described, sounds like a bad call by the umpire.
Peter The Hegemon
Lap cheong








Since: 11.2.03
From: Hackettstown, NJ

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 7 hours
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.58
    Originally posted by Eddie Famous
    This actually happened in a jr. pony league game I was in. Bases loaded, no out. A flyball is going to drop between the 2B and RF. Man on 3d is scoring, I was on 2nd and saw it was going to fall so I was "running" and was going to score. The ball bounced away from the fielders. The man from first beats a bad throw to home. The batter is coming home too, safely, but is called out by the home plate ump invoking "Infield Fly". So how does this go in the scorebook?


The offical scorer decides which fielder had the best chance to catch the ball--likely the 2B, from your description. Any runners who advanced would be scored as a sacrifice fly.

Your description is a little weird, though. You seem to be saying that the umpire didn't invoke the infield fly rule until the batter scored. The whole point of the rule is to invoke it while the ball is in the air so the runners know that they don't have to make the next base. And, really, if it was clear that the ball was going to fall in, the ump shouldn't have invoked the rule at all. The rule says it's only invoked when the ball could be caught with ordinary effort.
edoug
Summer sausage








Since: 13.2.04
From: Maine

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 14 hours
#4 Posted on
Like Vgmaster said, the batter is out by flyout to nearest fielder. The batter also gets credit for either two or three rbi's, depending if an error was charged on the throw home on the third runner.

Here is an account of a similar play:

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/baseball-insider/post/an-rbi-infield-fly-but-no-sacrifice-fly/2011/04/22/AFHHMQOE_blog.html



TheOldMan
Landjager








Since: 13.2.03
From: Chicago

Since last post: 122 days
Last activity: 5 days
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.67
Should've submitted this to the real expert:



Answer:

Spoiler Below: Highlight text to read
Matthews' run counts. Moreland's base was first, not second. He could be put out only by a touch at first or by being tagged with the ball while returning. Therefore Matthews scored before Moreland was retired for the third out. (From Section 7.10a, as of October 1984)




Thread rated: 5.21
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: Cain throws perfect game
Next thread: Roger Clemens verdict: Not guilty on all six counts
Previous thread: Six Mariners, One No-Hitter
(68 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
I'm saving all my complaints for when the Yanks throw a few hundred million and some Hawaiian islands at Cliff Lee. Torii Hunter couldn't even bring home his usual Gold Glove? This was just a wretched year all across the board for Anaheim.
The W - Baseball - Baseball scoring questionRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.078 seconds.