The W
Views: 133191896
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
23.5.18 2110
The W - Hockey - Award Nominees Announced
This thread has 7 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 3.69
Pages: 1
(211 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Post (1 total)
Summer sausage

Since: 5.9.02
From: Norwich, NY

Since last post: 820 days
Last activity: 800 days
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.69
The ceremony is in Toronto on June 14th, here are the nominees. There are 4 nominees for the Vezina Trophy as opposed to the normal 3, as there was a tie for the 3rd most votes.

Calder Trophy (outstanding rookie)
-Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh
-Jordan Staal, Pittsburgh
-Paul Stastny, Colorado

Frank J. Selke Trophy (outstanding defensive forward)
-Rod Brind'Amour, Carolina
-Samuel Pahlsson, Anaheim
-Jay Pandolfo, New Jersey

Hart Trophy (most valuable player as voted by writers)
-Martin Brodeur, New Jersey
-Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh
-Roberto Luongo, Vancouver

Jack Adams Award (outstanding coach)
-Lindy Ruff, Buffalo
-Michel Therrien, Pittsburgh
-Alain Vigneault, Vancouver

James Norris Trophy (outstanding defenseman)
-Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit
-Scott Niedermayer, Anaheim
-Chris Pronger, Anaheim

Lady Byng Trophy (sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct)
-Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit
-Joe Sakic, Colorado
-Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay

Lester B. Pearson Award (MVP, as voted by players)
-Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh
-Vincent Lecaviler, Tampa Bay
-Roberto Luongo, Vancouver

Vezina Trophy (outstanding goaltender)
-Martin Brodeur, New Jersey
-Mikka Kiprusoff, Calgary
-Henrik Lundqvist, NY Rangers
-Roberto Luongo, Vancouver

The Professional Hockey Writers Association will determine the winners of all awards, except the Jack Adams Award (Broadcasters), the Vezina (General Managers), and the Pearson (NHL Players Association)

Awards determined at the end of the regular season were the Art Ross Trophy (overall scoring leader), Sidney Crosby, the Rocket Richard trophy (most goals), to Vincent Lecaviler, and the William Jennings Trophy (team with lowest goals against average), to Manny Fernandez and Nicklas Backstrom of Minnesota.

For reasons of creative incompetence, this space will be left blank. Advertising opportunities are avaliable though!!! Contact (Number removed due to pending litigation) for details!
Promote this thread!
Thread rated: 3.69
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: QMJHL
Next thread: Second Round Matchups
Previous thread: Rangers Sweep into Round 2 !!!
(211 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
After getting romped by Boston 5 to 0 the Kings bounced back to beat San Jose. They started their homestand right where their road trip ended, with a win and they've overtaken the Flames for the 8th playoff spot in the West. PK...
- Omar Padilla, Go, Kings, Go (2002)
Related threads: Second Round Matchups - Playoffs set - Trade deadline day - More...
The W - Hockey - Award Nominees AnnouncedRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

©2001-2018 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.159 seconds.