The W
Views: 101431608
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
19.12.14 0410
The W - Pro Wrestling - ARSION Virgin (my 1st Puro review) - part one
This thread has 127 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Pages: 1(9250 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (7 total)
Ringmistress
Lap cheong








Since: 15.1.02
From: Philly

Since last post: 2732 days
Last activity: 2731 days
#1 Posted on
Well, I've done it, I've sat and watched a joshi pro tape for the first time. The thing was, I was thinking of doing this for a while, and a few people suggested I try ARSION first. So, to keep things general, I scored a copy of ARSION's Greatest Matches Vol. 1 from Highspots.com (good people, and selection!). Here's a review, and by the way, I'm no Keith. For the sake of bandwidth, I'll keep it as short as I can.

Michiko Ohmukai vs. Yumi Fukawa (8/31/98) - Bitch slapping followed by basic mat work from both, with lots of unique arm submissions. They're both tough as nails, and Ohmukai wins by pin. Good start.

Reggie Bennett vs. Mariko Yoshida (8/31/98) - Reggie's a big American, but she is versatile. The best way I can describe Yoshida is simply, "Ms. Benoit". Back and forth entertainment. Ms. Benoit wins by submission, hug at the end between them, nice to see.

Tiger Dream (Candy Okutsu) vs. Hiromi Yagi (8/31/98) - These two are acrobatic as hell. Tiger Dream gets some big air. Dream wins with the Tiger Suplex (nice looking). Yagi and Dream scuffle after match. Fun stuff for the high flyer fans out there.

Twin star of ARSION Rie Tamada & Hiromi Yagi vs. Michiko Ohmukai & Yumi Fukawa (12/18/98) - They get rough from the getgo with chairs outside the ring. Yagi's plancha to the outside is a beauty. You get submisisons mixed with good old ass whupping. Something for everybody, and the champs Tamada and Yagi retain.

Ayako Hamada vs. Aja Kong (12/18/98) - Aja started ARSION, so she already gets my props. She is a badass, that's all I'll say. Ayako gives it her all. Aja gets medieval on Ayako's injured elbow. To give credit, Hamada hung in there. But it was all over after she felt Aja's Uraken (spinning backhand punch to the jaw). Love that Uraken!

Ms. Benoit vs. Candy Okutsu for vacant Queen of ARSION title (12/18/98) - Mariko is amazing, Candy's no slouch either. Mariko slaps on the submission, and we got a new queen!

Yumi Fukawa vs. Ms. Benoit (5/4/99) - Yumi was really ready for Yoshida here. It was truly an awesome match. It was hard to tell who won. Yumi got out of most of Ms. Benoit's submissions, but at the end, Yumi was stretched to the point of no return. Yumi was plenty unhappy after the match. She was THIS CLOSE!!

As you can see, I've already developed a respect for Kong and Yoshida. They are unreal. This concludes part one. In part two, we see more of the breakthrough of Ayako, I meet AKINO, and an epic title match that will beat any WWE title match you see this year!

Ringmistress






(edited by Ringmistress on 4.5.03 1117)


HAAAAAIL, ILPALAZZO!
Promote this thread!
talena696
Tocino








Since: 27.4.03
From: Houston, Texas

Since last post: 3181 days
Last activity: 2785 days
#2 Posted on
God, I love Ayako Hamada. ERR, her as a wrestler I mean.

I my opion, she's the most classically beautiful female wrestler around. Truly.

Basically, I think she has her character down very well, especially during the CAZAI era, where she is one of my favourite wrestling characters- a naive, disrespectful and impulsive teenager, which she played beautifully. Just watch the end of LCO vs. Aja in a handicap match, where Ayako runs in and covers Aja's prone body screaming and sobbing, trying to protect her mother figure from LCO, a highly emotional and superbly executed spot. Now her character is older and wiser, and she seems to be claiming the Ace aura that was entrusted with her so early on in her carreer.

Somewhere along the way her selling has become almost Kawada-esque, with the blank, knocked out stare after getting clobbered. She needs to really stop no-selling German suplexes though, or at least start no-selling them better. I do like it how she has started the useless no-sells (where a wrestler stands up after a move, but is to groggy to do anything and just gets hit again), as it works very well in GAEA's fast paced style.

The only problem I have with her is with her back spin kick, as it looks fairly slow to wind up and sort of clumsy, at least for a credible finisher. It's good that she added some other kicks and some kick feints to make it look more believable. Add to that, shes picked up the Ki-Crusher '99, which is such a killer move I'm surprised more people haven't stolen it...

She forms an excellent team with Meiko Satomura, Meiko is the tom-boyish vicious one, fighting in a power/strike hybrid, Ayako is the femenine one, slower and more meticulous, fighting with more of a puro/lucha hybrid.

Anyway, if GAEA can get her fueding for the title with Meiko, Chikayo Nagashima, Sugar Sato, Carlos Amano, Ran Yuyu and a winding down Manami Toyota, then their future looks bright, at least for the short term.

PLUS: She's coming to America in JUNE!! To wrestle for Steve Corino's Premier Wrestling Fedaration in Penn. So I a word to the WWE, when this happens. GIVE HER A TRYOUT ANF SIGN HER!!

But nothing compares to my top 3 favorite joshi workers. Ayako is 4th, by the way. With Mariko Yosida, rounding out the top 5 in 5th.

3.) Megnumi Kudo: Can't sing this women's praises enough. Here's a story, she came into the FMW during the ultraviolent hardcore years. So she is thrown in the mixed of this with the other joshi workers. With her being cute, she get's the job of being the "cute girl who gets the holy heck beat out of her." Literally. And she does this so well, that she becomes one of, if not the most popular wrestler in FMW, male or female. TRULY. She's considered the Queen of the Deat Matches for her high pain tolerance and fighting spirit. One top of all this, she invented the Spinning Kudo Driver a.k.a. the Vertabreaker.

2.) Manami Toyota: A Legend. Her speed in uncanny, unmatched by amy other wrestler. Her matches with Akira Hokuto, who happens my #1, are legendary and greatest joshi matches of all time.

1.)Akira Hokuto: Why is she #1? WHY NOT?! Is it because her matches with Toyota are ranked above most of the men's matches as the greatest matches of all time. Is because her fighting spirit was off the charts. HELL, SHE WAS THE FIGHTING SPIRIT OF WOMEN'S WRESTLING!! Was it because she suffered super serious injuries, and continued for thirty minutes. EAT THAT, TRIPLE H!! This women got her necked broken after a bothced top-rope piledriver and continued the match for a good ten minutes. Amazing stuff. Another good one is that she hurt her knee badly, I talking serious ligament and bone damage, and continued the match. Her nickname says it all, THE MUMMY. She was always covered in bandages as a result of injuries, while trying to carry anyone to a great match. I mean, She had the savvy and willingness to sacrafice her body to get them over ala Mick Foley. She's an inspiration to almost any women who wants to wrestle, including me. And it so happens my #1 Joshi wrestler is her.

Anyways great review, I just thought I would add my two cents on some of my favorite joshi wrestlers. I may even post my reviews of joshi tapes as well.



sic gorgiamos alas subjectatos nunc
Ringmistress
Lap cheong








Since: 15.1.02
From: Philly

Since last post: 2732 days
Last activity: 2731 days
#3 Posted on
    Originally posted by talena696
    God, I love Ayako Hamada. ERR, her as a wrestler I mean.

    I my opion, she's the most classically beautiful female wrestler around. Truly.

    Basically, I think she has her character down very well, especially during the CAZAI era, where she is one of my favourite wrestling characters- a naive, disrespectful and impulsive teenager, which she played beautifully. Just watch the end of LCO vs. Aja in a handicap match, where Ayako runs in and covers Aja's prone body screaming and sobbing, trying to protect her mother figure from LCO, a highly emotional and superbly executed spot. Now her character is older and wiser, and she seems to be claiming the Ace aura that was entrusted with her so early on in her carreer.

    PLUS: She's coming to America in JUNE!! To wrestle for Steve Corino's Premier Wrestling Fedaration in Penn. So I a word to the WWE, when this happens. GIVE HER A TRYOUT ANF SIGN HER!!

    But nothing compares to my top 3 favorite joshi workers. Ayako is 4th, by the way. With Mariko Yosida, rounding out the top 5 in 5th.

    3.) Megnumi Kudo: Can't sing this women's praises enough. Here's a story, she came into the FMW during the ultraviolent hardcore years. So she is thrown in the mixed of this with the other joshi workers. With her being cute, she get's the job of being the "cute girl who gets the holy heck beat out of her." Literally. And she does this so well, that she becomes one of, if not the most popular wrestler in FMW, male or female. TRULY. She's considered the Queen of the Deat Matches for her high pain tolerance and fighting spirit. One top of all this, she invented the Spinning Kudo Driver a.k.a. the Vertabreaker.

    2.) Manami Toyota: A Legend. Her speed in uncanny, unmatched by amy other wrestler. Her matches with Akira Hokuto, who happens my #1, are legendary and greatest joshi matches of all time.

    1.)Akira Hokuto: Why is she #1? WHY NOT?! Is it because her matches with Toyota are ranked above most of the men's matches as the greatest matches of all time. Is because her fighting spirit was off the charts. HELL, SHE WAS THE FIGHTING SPIRIT OF WOMEN'S WRESTLING!! Was it because she suffered super serious injuries, and continued for thirty minutes. EAT THAT, TRIPLE H!! This women got her necked broken after a bothced top-rope piledriver and continued the match for a good ten minutes. Amazing stuff. Another good one is that she hurt her knee badly, I talking serious ligament and bone damage, and continued the match. Her nickname says it all, THE MUMMY. She was always covered in bandages as a result of injuries, while trying to carry anyone to a great match. I mean, She had the savvy and willingness to sacrafice her body to get them over ala Mick Foley. She's an inspiration to almost any women who wants to wrestle, including me. And it so happens my #1 Joshi wrestler is her.

    Anyways great review, I just thought I would add my two cents on some of my favorite joshi wrestlers. I may even post my reviews of joshi tapes as well.



Thanks for the history lesson on Ayako, appreciate that. I'm definitely take a peek at these other joshi greats you told me about. Ayako in the PWF?! SWEET! I got their TV show here in Philly! Oh, man, if Vince passes her up... Well, I wouldn't be shocked. Thanks for telling me.

(edited by Ringmistress on 5.5.03 0759)


HAAAAAIL, ILPALAZZO!
vsp
Andouille








Since: 3.1.02
From: Philly

Since last post: 3090 days
Last activity: 304 days
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 0.00

    Originally posted by talena696
    PLUS: She's coming to America in JUNE!! To wrestle for Steve Corino's Premier Wrestling Fedaration in Penn. So I a word to the WWE, when this happens. GIVE HER A TRYOUT AND SIGN HER!!


Um, the thought of Ayako Hamada coming to the WWE and spending a couple of years jobbing to Torrie Wilson turns my stomach.



"You may be wondering why I have been making so many references lately to Fox News. The reason is that it is now my cable news network of choice -- because if Iím going to watch the news and be lied to, I want it to be ridiculously obvious that I am being lied to." -- Center for an Informed America, Newsletter #34
Shem the Penman
Toulouse








Since: 16.1.02
From: The Off-Center of the Universe (aka Philadelphia)

Since last post: 320 days
Last activity: 119 days
#5 Posted on
Re Manami Toyota: Last night on Heat, Ivory beat Molly with an electric chair drop, and I noticed Molly kept her arms crossed during the fall, so the move looked suspiciously like the Ocean Cyclone Suplex. An intentional homage, perhaps? I'm sure I've heard somewhere that Molly, at least, follows joshi ...

Triple Crown Tapes at www.triplecrowntapes.com used to have a promotion of three great joshi tapes (Manami Toyota: The Best and the two-part AJW Wrestling Queendom Victory) for only $25 the set, but they don't seem to be offering it any more, unfortunately. I thought I'd slip in the plug, though.





"next to of course god america i
love you land of the pilgrims' and so forth oh
say can you see by the dawn's early my
country tis of centuries come and go
and are no more what of it we should worry
in every language even deafanddumb
thy sons acclaim your glorious name by gorry
by jingo by gee by gosh by gum
why talk of beauty what could be more beaut-
iful than these heroic happy dead
who rushed like lions to the roaring slaughter
they did not stop to think they died instead
then shall the voice of liberty be mute?"

He spoke. And drank rapidly a glass of water
MollyFan2K2
Blutwurst








Since: 26.6.02
From: Ware, MA

Since last post: 2772 days
Last activity: 2718 days
AIM:  
#6 Posted on
Coolness!! I need to get myself over there and get me some of those great great tapes! Any trace of Ai Fujita on the tape? Just a bit curious.



A shark on whiskey is mighty risky, a shark on beer is a beer engineer.
Ringmistress
Lap cheong








Since: 15.1.02
From: Philly

Since last post: 2732 days
Last activity: 2731 days
#7 Posted on

    Originally posted by MollyFan2K2
    Coolness!! I need to get myself over there and get me some of those great great tapes! Any trace of Ai Fujita on the tape? Just a bit curious.


Yes, a couple, in fact.


Ringmistress



?!
Pages: 1Thread ahead: ARSION Virgin (my first puro review) - part two
Next thread: The Great Sasuke reports to council in mask
Previous thread: Austin to bring back IC Title?
(9250 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
I'm weak on my dates, but this seems like a Russo leftover.
The W - Pro Wrestling - ARSION Virgin (my 1st Puro review) - part oneRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.842 seconds.