The W
Views: 101440199
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
19.12.14 0959
The W - Movies & TV - Any opinions on TUF3 after two episodes?
This thread has 3 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 6.69
Pages: 1
(4201 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (9 total)
CRZ
Big Brother
Administrator








Since: 9.12.01
From: ミネアポリス

Since last post: 19 hours
Last activity: 7 hours
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.89
I have to admit, I've managed to miss both episodes. Are Shammy and Tito any fun? Is there ANY reason to give this show my time? Is anybody actually watching it? Where's Frank? Did I start this thread just to show off the TUF3 icon? MAYBE.

(edited by CRZ on 14.4.06 1545)


CRZ
Promote this thread!
ShotGunShep
Frankfurter








Since: 20.2.03

Since last post: 2594 days
Last activity: 2481 days
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.37
Frank...Shamrock? During the time of the taping he was training for his last fight against Cesar Gracie, and now training for a fight against an unnamed Brazilian.

Tito is pretty funny, Ken is unintentionally hilarious and the fighters bitch constantly about their coaches. There haven't been any fireworks yet (although they have shown some teasers of an altercation).

Any reason to give this show your time? How about FREE fights?? They've done away with the challenges. This season, the coaches choose the matches. Shamrock won a coin toss and picked the first bout, which he won against a ridiculously overmatched Mike Stine from team Ortiz. Team Ortiz/Punishment won the second match and chooses the next bout.
Also, they have it set up so that everyone must fight. Winning your first fight gets you into the semifinal round (which means if you fight early, you can rest and not worry about fighting till that round). So to get to the finale live on Spike, the fighters will need to win 2 fights in the Octagon.

The house dynamics are pretty interesting. There are two Englishmen, a deaf kid and some agitators. And I know this will make Zim happy, at least up until now there hasn't been much Dana White.

I came across a spoiler after training last night from a friend and fighter at Sportfight, so PM me if you want at least some of the final matchups.
Deputy Marshall
Liverwurst








Since: 28.6.04
From: Troy, NY

Since last post: 64 days
Last activity: 3 days
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.22
I've only seen the first episode, which I liked quite a bit. I think there's a lot of potential for this season, and in particular I'm psyched about the elimination of the "challenges." It was necessary to draw in the audience who will watch any and all reality television (unfortunately there seems to be a LOT of them), and they picked the right time to put the entire focus on where it should be: the fighters and the fights.

Seeing Tito Ortiz coaching his guys in front of a camera is going to be ridiculously entertaining in a trainwreck sort of way.

(edited by Deputy Marshall on 14.4.06 1925)

TO BILL BRASKY!

My LiveJournal, where you can read tons of stuff that you don't give a crap about.

CRZ
Big Brother
Administrator








Since: 9.12.01
From: ミネアポリス

Since last post: 19 hours
Last activity: 7 hours
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.89
    Originally posted by ShotGunShep
    Frank...Shamrock?
BostonIdol aka tOA's Frank



CRZ
EddieBurkett
Boudin blanc








Since: 3.1.02
From: GA in person, NJ in heart

Since last post: 13 hours
Last activity: 1 hour
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.96
I've enjoyed the first two episodes so far.

So far, Ortiz seems like the more 'in touch' coach, although I don't know how effective that is. It looks like he's spending all his time coaching the deaf kid and that's drawing some heat on him. Still, he looks like he genuinely cares, and he wants to do well.

Shamrock, on the other hand, seems a bit out of touch, given that his only concern seems to be to beat Tito. I didn't care that his strategy when drafting was to draft a guy that he thought could match up well with who Tito drafted just before him. I also like how the fighters are questioning his decision to have a nutrionist instead of a submissions specialist. I enjoyed the last episode, when Shamrock's team came off looking like dicks because they kept taking Noah's ball. I was SO GLAD when Jesse got eliminated after stabbing the ball and being a dick. I feel bad that Shamrock got saddled with these assholes. Especially that lazy cajun guy. But its his own fault for drafting them. I guess, right now, I'm rooting moreso for team Ortiz.

Overall, its a good show. I like it.
Boston Idol
Blutwurst








Since: 17.2.03
From: San Jose, CA

Since last post: 2926 days
Last activity: 2719 days
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 0.63
I'm watching Top Chef on Bravo. Unfortunately Bravo isn't secure enough to let shows unfold on their own, so they have started creating promos for their website that play up the characters, like emphasizing Stephen as a heel.

WTF, Stephen is smug and arrogant, but he's no worse than several others who have lied and backstabbed to try to save themselves at the expense of others. He's also not an insufferable whiner like many of his inferior critics.

For my money, Tiffany is a bigger jerk than Stephen on every level... and she appears to be an inferior chef.
CRZ
Big Brother
Administrator








Since: 9.12.01
From: ミネアポリス

Since last post: 19 hours
Last activity: 7 hours
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.89
    Originally posted by Boston Idol
    I'm watching Top Chef on Bravo.
Having seen absolutely no episodes of this show with no intention of seeing any in the future, nonetheless, I feel I'm on firm ground by assuming that it's better than the FOX chef reality show, but not as good as the PBS chef reality show. ;-)



CRZ
Guru Zim
SQL Dejection
Administrator








Since: 9.12.01
From: Bay City, OR

Since last post: 8 hours
Last activity: 8 hours
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#8 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.81
    Originally posted by CRZ
      Originally posted by Boston Idol
      I'm watching Top Chef on Bravo.
    Having seen absolutely no episodes of this show with no intention of seeing any in the future, nonetheless, I feel I'm on firm ground by assuming that it's better than the FOX chef reality show, but not as good as the PBS chef reality show. ;-)


I'll go out on a limb and guess that it may also feature a gay contestant.



Ignorance is bliss for you, hell for me.
drjayphd
Scrapple
Moderator








Since: 22.4.02
From: Long Island

Since last post: 14 days
Last activity: 3 days
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#9 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.06
You wanted the best, you got... Out of Context Quote of the Week.

"I know, I know you are saying "sure there was some bad calls, but Jake Gyllenhaal obviously dropped too many easy catches and Ang Lee had some horrible clock management at the end of each half!"" (krakken2000)


    Originally posted by Guru Zim
      Originally posted by CRZ
        Originally posted by Boston Idol
        I'm watching Top Chef on Bravo.
      Having seen absolutely no episodes of this show with no intention of seeing any in the future, nonetheless, I feel I'm on firm ground by assuming that it's better than the FOX chef reality show, but not as good as the PBS chef reality show. ;-)


    I'll go out on a limb and guess that it may also feature a gay contestant.


Not to mention the gay judge, who appeared in an article on gay chefs with said contestant. But it can't compare to the massive overdubbing by Katie Lee Joel. Makes Heidi Klum, at least when she started hosting Project Runway, look like a natural.



Thread rated: 6.69
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: Sopranos, 4-16-06
Next thread: JLU 4/15 -- Far From Home
Previous thread: Sopranos 4/9/06
(4201 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
I agree. Nice character work all around, and that's when this show is at its best. I like where they've taken Chang this season. He's been dialed down just enough so that it's believable (in the context of the show)
The W - Movies & TV - Any opinions on TUF3 after two episodes?Register and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.189 seconds.