The W
Views: 95645474
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
19.4.14 0937
The W - Pro Wrestling - A TV Review of Raw & Smackdown
This thread has 4 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Pages: 1(10158 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (8 total)
rv581
Goetta








Since: 2.12.02

Since last post: 1296 days
Last activity: 466 days
#1 Posted on
from www.laststory.com

WWE Raw and WWE Smackdown

Hulk Hogan is on his last legs, Ric Flair is older than Egyptian dirt, the Undertaker has the mobility of a pregnant beached whale, the Rock is semi-retired, and Stone Cold Steve Austin has left the company. Anyone left? A few people… but no one we really care about. What was once “must-see” television for the all-important 18-35 demographic has slowly become stale and repetitive. And the program that once caused Monday Night Football headaches is now road kill on the Nielsen gridiron.

Wrestling rode shock-TV and boot-stomping, profanity-laced anti-heroism to unparalleled success in the late 90s, but this formula has aged poorly, and wrestling’s writers have done a shitty job at creating compelling storylines or new stars. The television shows themselves have become woefully formulaic: Someone cuts a promo (including a few catch-phrases), a few women prance about trying to “out-slut” one another, an established star challenges another established star to some sort of showdown, and the announcers feverishly engage in redundant hyperbolic superlatives in an effort to hawk the upcoming PPV. Before, viewers still knew that they were watching, in essence, a two hour commercial for the monthly wrestling PPV, but the commercial was of such intrigue and quality that nobody felt cheated. Now? Being spoon-fed a program that spends its duration hawking a “main event” that lasts all of two minutes leaves the viewers with a growing empathy for the employees of Enron.

Among the better young talent in the industry are RVD, Brock Lesnar, Booker T, Kurt Angle, HHH, the Hurricane, and Chris Jericho. Unfortunately, we’ve seen derivative works of the same routine so many times, their act has lost any semblance of impact. “Hey, look! Ric Flair said ‘Whoo’! Triple H just hit someone with a sledge-hammer! Vince McMahon is acting corrupt! The Undertaker is riding a motorcycle! One of those interchangeable female wrestlers is showing some cleavage! How outrageous!” Been there, done that.

Wrestling still has its bright spots, but the best reason to watch these shows is nostalgia. And even nostalgia wears thin after a while.



Grade: C+





"Who ate my sandwich???"
Promote this thread!
tomvejada
Andouille








Since: 2.1.02

Since last post: 3886 days
Last activity: 3886 days
#2 Posted on
"Better young talent" HHH.

Hah.



"I just got pinned by a friggin twelve-year-old."

Kurt Angle
Torchslasher
Knackwurst








Since: 17.1.02
From: New F'n Jersey

Since last post: 192 days
Last activity: 159 days
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.44

    Originally posted by rv581
    from www.laststory.com

    WWE Raw and WWE Smackdown

    Hulk Hogan is on his last legs, Ric Flair is older than Egyptian dirt, the Undertaker has the mobility of a pregnant beached whale, the Rock is semi-retired, and Stone Cold Steve Austin has left the company. Anyone left? A few people… but no one we really care about. What was once “must-see” television for the all-important 18-35 demographic has slowly become stale and repetitive. And the program that once caused Monday Night Football headaches is now road kill on the Nielsen gridiron.

    Wrestling rode shock-TV and boot-stomping, profanity-laced anti-heroism to unparalleled success in the late 90s, but this formula has aged poorly, and wrestling’s writers have done a shitty job at creating compelling storylines or new stars. The television shows themselves have become woefully formulaic: Someone cuts a promo (including a few catch-phrases), a few women prance about trying to “out-slut” one another, an established star challenges another established star to some sort of showdown, and the announcers feverishly engage in redundant hyperbolic superlatives in an effort to hawk the upcoming PPV. Before, viewers still knew that they were watching, in essence, a two hour commercial for the monthly wrestling PPV, but the commercial was of such intrigue and quality that nobody felt cheated. Now? Being spoon-fed a program that spends its duration hawking a “main event” that lasts all of two minutes leaves the viewers with a growing empathy for the employees of Enron.

    Among the better young talent in the industry are RVD, Brock Lesnar, Booker T, Kurt Angle, HHH, the Hurricane, and Chris Jericho. Unfortunately, we’ve seen derivative works of the same routine so many times, their act has lost any semblance of impact. “Hey, look! Ric Flair said ‘Whoo’! Triple H just hit someone with a sledge-hammer! Vince McMahon is acting corrupt! The Undertaker is riding a motorcycle! One of those interchangeable female wrestlers is showing some cleavage! How outrageous!” Been there, done that.

    Wrestling still has its bright spots, but the best reason to watch these shows is nostalgia. And even nostalgia wears thin after a while.



    Grade: C+





Dude, do you work for this website you get all your info from? How about providing some original thought? (Just a suggestion.)



The call is from heroism; will you accept the charges?

Treasurer of the RFMC
rv581
Goetta








Since: 2.12.02

Since last post: 1296 days
Last activity: 466 days
#4 Posted on
I don't get "all my info" from this or any other site. It's just another outlet that provides wrestling fans with wrestling talk. And my purpose in posting it is that I thought others in this forum would find the article interesting to read while surfing the net, looking for a take on sports entertainment.

And judging be the responses to some of the articles here, others DO find the subject matter fodder for discussion.



"Who ate my sandwich???"
FurryHippie
Frankfurter








Since: 29.10.02
From: New York

Since last post: 2793 days
Last activity: 1480 days
AIM:  
#5 Posted on

    Originally posted by rv581
    I don't get "all my info" from this or any other site. It's just another outlet that provides wrestling fans with wrestling talk. And my purpose in posting it is that I thought others in this forum would find the article interesting to read while surfing the net, looking for a take on sports entertainment.

    And judging be the responses to some of the articles here, others DO find the subject matter fodder for discussion.



Well, Torchslasher *IS* the treasurer of the RFMC, so don't expect anything more from him =) (heh, sorry, people who take pride in something like a "Real Fucking Moron Club" ask for it!)

But back to the article, HHH is an old name, but just cause we don't like him doesn't change the fact that Booker T. is a good 3 or 4 years older than him. In wrestling terms, Triple H, at 32 or so, is still "young".

Unfortunately it's his character that isn't "young" or "fresh" anymore. I still think HHH, being young and TALENTED as he is, still has potential to do something with the next 5-7 years. Just because he's hated now and his body needs some renovation and rest, this doesn't mean we should write him off as part of the "old guard" that needs to retire.





WrestleMania XIX - Raw Main Event - Who is toughest??

*** SPIKE DUDLEY vs. FURRYHIPPIE ***

ThreepMe says I can't do it - I say I *can*!

Be there March 30, 2003!
dMr
Andouille








Since: 2.11.02
From: Edinburgh, Scotland

Since last post: 11 days
Last activity: 16 hours
#6 Posted on
Its interesting to read a report that sounds like it was written by a guy that used to enjoy wrestling but now rarely bothers. Much as many of us bitch about Rock, Taker, Austin and HHH it seems like these are the guys that the missing masses enjoyed watching.

Theres just no accounting for taste.



"I tear my quadricep all the time. Heck I tore it this morning and I'm fine!" Kurt Angle

Undisputed Wiener of the day 6.11.02
sentonBOMB
Frankfurter








Since: 25.11.02
From: Jersey

Since last post: 1787 days
Last activity: 487 days
#7 Posted on
i think the most unfortunate thing about this "review" is the tone.. it's the tone of, "well my old favorites are gone, so let's just go home." that's the same attitude that led to the 90s version of wcw: push the "old guard" to the moon because no one wants to take a chance on the new guys. i'm personally GLAD that this "reviewer" doesn't like the wwe anymore, because that would mean it's been stagnant.

i mean, i agree that, as the review suggests, russo's "crash tv" was what brought the wwf to where it is, and now it's having trouble maintaining that because it's hard to shock people anymore. but that doesn't mean you stop giving it a chance to do things other than shock you to keep you interested.

edit: spelling.

(edited by sentonBOMB on 9.1.03 1605)
senor sangre
Bauerwurst








Since: 31.1.02
From: Fred'burg, VA

Since last post: 3354 days
Last activity: 2953 days
AIM:  
#8 Posted on
"Dude, do you work for this website you get all your info from? How about providing some original thought? (Just a suggestion.)"

On THIS site? In that case, I'd better not read any more comments about how HHH/Regal/BPP/WWE sucks or about not ever watching the show again.



I'm the kung fu hippie
From gangsta city.
I'm a rappin' surfer,
You the fool I pity.
Pages: 1Thread ahead: Heat matches
Next thread: Who's going to WrestleMania XIX?
Previous thread: A Question on Austin's Possible Return
(10158 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Yeah but... If ever if ever if ever if ever IF EVER a DVD collection ever called for an audio commentary track, this is it. That would be worth the $20 right there. :)
- JoshMann, Ultimate Warrior collection (2004)
The W - Pro Wrestling - A TV Review of Raw & SmackdownRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.429 seconds.