The W
Views: 95605207
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
18.4.14 0829
The W - Pro Wrestling - A Review of the RAW Roster... (Page 3)
This thread has 19 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 4.33
Pages: Prev 1 2 3
(6287 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (47 total)
Joe E. Nitro
Salami








Since: 4.2.04

Since last post: 3442 days
Last activity: 923 days
#41 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.76
    Originally posted by Nenz
      Originally posted by Joe E. Nitro

        3) Chris Benoit

        Stuck as the third wheel to Trip and
        Shawn until he's sent hurdling back
        into the midcard mix... or SmackDown!
        Caught a break drawing a disappointing
        number against Shawn that looked a lot
        better a week later, but still destined
        to return to a midcard enhancement role.


      I'm amazed the WWE machine has stayed behind him for this long, but then again having Benoit look strong only makes whoever beats him look stronger. If you are looking for a long title run or even multiple title runs from Benoit snap out of it, you will only disappoint yourself down the road. Benoit is going to be Triple H's Ronnie Garvin except a more talented and over version. Barring major injury to a few top stars Benoit will never be in this place again, so enjoy it now.


    Ron Garvin won the title so he could lose to Flair at Starrcade. Benoit won the title at Wrestlemania. Why would they give Benoit the Rumble win (from the #1 entry) and Wrestlemania main event win, at what they billed to be the biggest Wrestlemania in history, if they only wanted Benoit to have a little title reign, drop the title back to Triple H, then be thrown back to the midcard.


It makes whoever beats Benoit look that much tougher. I also agree with SKS it is also a nice gesture to a talented guy who has truely paid his dues. Like Ron Garvin, Benoit has the title so he can lose it to Helmsley and give him title reign #whatever on his way to Ric Flair status. Sit back and enjoy it now and don't worry about him dropping the title down the road because you might just miss a nice little title run.

...and if WMXXI isn't hyped as the biggest WM of all-time than I will truely be shocked.




(edited by Joe E. Nitro on 14.5.04 0743)
Jakegnosis
Morcilla








Since: 26.7.02
From: Maine

Since last post: 2673 days
Last activity: 2657 days
#42 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.91
    Originally posted by samoflange
    HHH is ... one of the best on the mic .


What? All of his promos are the same. Long and boring, and all he says is that he's the best and he's beaten everyone. And he says it about five times in every promo. He's beating a dead horse every time he gets on the mic- You could boil all of his identical promos down to thirty seconds and get the point across. Okay, Trips, we get it. You're a tough guy. Great. Maybe if you added some personality I might give a shit.



"Are you- are you sad?"

-No.

"But your- your songs are sad."

-My songs are of time and distance. The sadness is in you. Watch my arms. There is only the dance. These things you treasure are shells.

"I- I knew that. Once."
LotusMegami
Salami








Since: 22.9.03
From: Indiana

Since last post: 3235 days
Last activity: 3235 days
AIM:  
#43 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.98

And why is working for indy promotions so degrading? Maybe Terry Funk isn't thinking about money. He appears to be fairly well off, and doesn't strike me as someone who would put money first if he was fairly well off.

Maybe I'm getting off topic, but this thread already sucks, so I don't feel bad about it.

If you think that all other American promotions are inferior to the WWE, then you are in for quite a surprise in the near future.

The more I watch TNA, the less RAW and Smackdown satisfy me. It just seems so silly, so *fake*, and there is so little variety in style. It's weird but TNA is so much more serious, yet at the same time more fun.









Ringmistress
Lap cheong








Since: 15.1.02
From: Philly

Since last post: 2487 days
Last activity: 2486 days
#44 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.00
    Originally posted by Jakegnosis
      Originally posted by samoflange
      HHH is ... one of the best on the mic .


    What? All of his promos are the same. Long and boring, and all he says is that he's the best and he's beaten everyone. And he says it about five times in every promo. He's beating a dead horse every time he gets on the mic- You could boil all of his identical promos down to thirty seconds and get the point across. Okay, Trips, we get it. You're a tough guy. Great. Maybe if you added some personality I might give a shit.


Look, I agree, his promos can be boring and redundant sometimes. And repeating things is annoying. But, as I say that, I can't help but think of the last few months. Yeah, he's overdosing on honeybuns these days, but he's been quite generous with Shelton (who he still hasn't beaten I think) and Benoit, not to mention that fun thing with Tajiri.

Also, it's those slight intangibles he has. Like when he cost HBK the title a couple weeks ago. I remember this look in his face when Benoit pinned him. There he was, sitting in the front row, with this grin. A grin I recognize very well. A chomping-at-the-bit grin. The HEEL grin. The HORNY heel grin. The grin of a man who wants something SO bad.

I've never seen a look like that from him, and well coming home to see that smile, well.... Let's just say I forgot about the spare tire, if you will. It was that good, with the licking of the lips. I honestly believe that few can sell true desire better than Hunter. You really can't deny that he's been less annoying this year.



After a quarter of a century on this planet, there's three things I know for sure...
1)Ain't nothing like a Dirty Pair marathon on New Year's Eve.
2)I'd make a fine Mrs. HHH II.
3) I'd make an acceptable Mrs. Orton.
1400 reasons to luv me!
samoflange
Lap cheong








Since: 22.2.04
From: Cambridge, MA

Since last post: 183 days
Last activity: 176 days
#45 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.57
    Originally posted by Ringmistress
      Originally posted by Jakegnosis
        Originally posted by samoflange
        HHH is ... one of the best on the mic .


      What? All of his promos are the same. Long and boring, and all he says is that he's the best and he's beaten everyone. And he says it about five times in every promo. He's beating a dead horse every time he gets on the mic- You could boil all of his identical promos down to thirty seconds and get the point across. Okay, Trips, we get it. You're a tough guy. Great. Maybe if you added some personality I might give a shit.


    Look, I agree, his promos can be boring and redundant sometimes. And repeating things is annoying. But, as I say that, I can't help but think of the last few months. Yeah, he's overdosing on honeybuns these days, but he's been quite generous with Shelton (who he still hasn't beaten I think) and Benoit, not to mention that fun thing with Tajiri.

    Also, it's those slight intangibles he has. Like when he cost HBK the title a couple weeks ago. I remember this look in his face when Benoit pinned him. There he was, sitting in the front row, with this grin. A grin I recognize very well. A chomping-at-the-bit grin. The HEEL grin. The HORNY heel grin. The grin of a man who wants something SO bad.

    I've never seen a look like that from him, and well coming home to see that smile, well.... Let's just say I forgot about the spare tire, if you will. It was that good, with the licking of the lips. I honestly believe that few can sell true desire better than Hunter. You really can't deny that he's been less annoying this year.


That is really more of what I meant. While he may get boring at times (which I really don't see to the extent that others seem to, but I can still see the collective point), he is a believeable actor and very effectively gets his messages across with body language and inflection and whatnot. So, maybe "one of the best on the mic" isn't a good way to say that but "one of the best promo guys" is better, because that emcompasses all the little things that HHH does besides merely talking with his promos and other non-wrestling appearances.

Just some more random thoughts about HHH:

I admit I wasn't around to watch HHH all last year when apparently he ran amok over the entire RAW roster. Most of my HHH opinion is from back before his quad injury, and everything I've seen since I started watching WWE again (around November-ish). When I started getting back into wrestling I was shocked: "OMG why all the hating on HHH? I love the guy!" I saw what everybody meant during the end of last year, but since January (barring his very selective ringtime very early in the year) HHH has seemed just as good as he was back in 2000 or so. And perhaps this is because I didn't watch it and wasn't pissed off about it for so long, but I think now that his looooooong title run is over (for a short time at least), it makes the World Heavyweight title that much more important to have, and it makes a win over HHH be that much more significant. You build up a wrestler for months and months, and then it all pays off when it's finally time for him to start losing once in a while. Fans have been conditioned to know that HHH is a main eventer for life, and I can't think of any other wrestlers in the company right now who would be better suited to be in that position.

EDIT: I use run-on sentences like it's my job.

(edited by samoflange on 17.5.04 1159)


Lloyd: When I met Mary, I got that old fashioned romantic feeling, where I'd do anything to bone her.
Harry: That's a special feeling.

"Jericho tries for the Walls of Jericho early on, but it is blocked by mysterious rays from Shawn Michaels while a message on the Titantron says, 'This move is mine now.' "
-RAW Satire, 05.10.04
Net Hack Slasher
Banger








Since: 6.1.02
From: Outer reaches of your mind

Since last post: 3401 days
Last activity: 1821 days
#46 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.30
HHH- I think his problem of being repetitive in interviews has a connection to him always being champion or going after the championship. If he has a non-world title feud maybe he'd be able to broaden his promo style.

HBK- I don't mind Shawn's act I'd rather he'd be paired someone not named HHH. They ended his Jericho feud way too fast yet kept the HHH one way too long.

Benoit- He's doing way better then any of us can imagine. When he loses will he go back down to mid-card, probably. But then again most champs not named HHH do. But I still think he'd be a contender to the big prize but again Benoit not a young kid anymore and not necessary the future. So enjoy this.

Y2J- His babyface character is pretty "uh" for me, seems very mid-cardish. Sure it's goofy and haha funny, but at times he seems to have trouble switching to serious, but he seems to be doing more of an effort now. I just wish we'd see more diversity in the Y2J character, well Matt Hardy dating councilor is not really what I have in mind.

Orton- He really has been impressing me lately, not even talking about the Foley match. His bumping is really good. His facial expression even though exaggerated at times is much better then most. His body language and psychology is getting up there better then most, really improved in the last few months.

Edge- He's kinda looking like HHH younger unemployed brother these days LoL. His return was pretty un-eventful, he doesn't seem to grab the momentum he had right before his injury.

Kane- Major potential when he lost the mask and went all psycho, it's lost some steam. But they are doing a good job rebooting deranged monster as they are doing now. I think Kane having Lita by his side has some potential.

Batista- Don't think he's in Ortan level yet. They are doing good him in a tag situation as he is. His recent muscle flex poses is a little annoying LoL.

Eugene- Can't really say anything bad about it now, is it a novelty act? Maybe. But he and Regal are two of the most interest character in wrestling right now.

Flair- Has he become somewhat of a parody of himself in the ring? maaaybe. But for me he's so legendary that he doesn't play by the same rules & I accept that (for me only he & Hogan can get away with that). I still love seeing him in the ring & watch him do his thing.

Divas- As for looks, it's a personal opinion. For me I think there are many pretty girls on Raw. They are visually diverse which is a big positive. As for inring, it's been going downhill for the last year unfortunately. Victoria was put as top face without really establishing herself as a face at all. Trish turns heel & they thought Lita would be a suitable backup, but she's so pathetic in the ring. Another problem is that they portray Lita as the #1 important fighting face diva which doesn't help Victoria at all as Lita gets the hot tag, cleans house and gets the pinfall as Victoria playing backup duty. I hope they get their act together because the talent IS there we've seen it, you just need to know how to use it & who not to use.

Bischoff- His role has really been pushed more into the background ever since Austin left. Which I don't mind at all, Raw has alot of talent, let them to shine. Bischoff is doing his role well.

Christian- Thought he was really awesome right before WM. Even though the story was JeriTrish, he was totally shining as his role as complete jerk. He(supposedly) had no feelings for Trish. So why would he try to break them up? Simple he's a PRICK. We know people like this, who just wants to ruin happiness for others. His heel act week in, week out was classic until WM. His act isn't as interesting now with the lame "I got the girl" stuff, boring. A Trish hook up with Christian could have been epic, but it wasn't because of illogical booking and taking away all characteristics from Trish that could have added to Christian & made her pretty generic with him.

Benjamin- Way too early to tell. But he does need to develop more then just "the guy who has HHH number" Also he comes out he gives me this Ivory/Victoria babyface presence to him. The whole way to energetic pumping of the fists and saying "yeah cheer me yeah come on" motion, and not really being comfortable in his character & letting the cheers come to him. But it's forgivable as his character isn't that well developed yet.


(edited by Net Hack Slasher on 17.5.04 1847)

smark/net attack wienerville advisory stays at BLUE alert - Guarded (With Benoit & Eddie being World & WWE champions you'd expect all's be right but couldn't do it due to Trish/Y2J character switches & whats the deal with JBL PPV main event)- 5/6
Boston Idol
Blutwurst








Since: 17.2.03
From: San Jose, CA

Since last post: 2681 days
Last activity: 2474 days
#47 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.54
: HHH- I think his problem of being repetitive in
: interviews has a connection to him always being
: champion or going after the championship. If he
: has a non-world title feud maybe he'd be able to
: broaden his promo style.

Trip is a smart strategist but has no creativity
and his feud with Shawn is already beyond stale.

: HBK- I don't mind Shawn's act I'd rather he'd be
: paired someone not named HHH. They ended his Jericho
: feud way too fast yet kept the HHH one way too long.

Given that HBK returned from a career ending injury,
he should be used in big money matches (some would
argue that would be a first for him) and to elevate
younger stars. Instead he is one of the most prominent
stars in the promotion and has been for many months.

: Benoit- He's doing way better then any of us can
: imagine.

I couldn't care less about his push. His work has
become shallow spot-fu. It is however an issue when
the champ, supposedly featured and pushed hard, is
constantly positioned to look second rate next to
Trip Burton's vanity feud with Shawn Taylor.

: Y2J- His babyface character is pretty "uh" for me,
: seems very mid-cardish.

It hasn't helped that his "rivals" have been midcarders.

: Orton- He really has been impressing me lately, not
: even talking about the Foley match. His bumping is
: really good.

His bumping is good, awesome at times, but he has
almost no offense. Tonight he brought nothing but
punches, stomps, forearms, and goofy restholds.

: Edge- He's kinda looking like HHH younger unemployed
: brother these days LoL. His return was pretty un-
: eventful, he doesn't seem to grab the momentum he
: had right before his injury.

He eliminated Batista tonight, so he may get to skin
the big man on the next PPV to build him up to job
to Triple H.

: Kane- Major potential when he lost the mask and
: went all psycho, it's lost some steam. But they
: are doing a good job rebooting deranged monster
: as they are doing now. I think Kane having Lita
: by his side has some potential.

Maybe Lita can teach Kane to protect his balls.

And yeah, yeah, yeah, I know... Kane needed to be
laid out when he won the battle royal because it
was critical to national security to put heat on
Trip vs Shawn XIV and there was absolutely no
other way on earth of doing that.

As I've said before, Trip always has an excuse.

: Batista- Don't think he's in Ortan level yet.

He's smarter than Orton already. When Orton
tagged out after working the arm, Orton kicked
the back. Batista instead kicked the shoulder,
then went straight into a hammerlock which he
then leveraged over into a pinning combination.

Seriously, people need to clean the crap out of
their eyes when they watch Orton and Batista.

: They are doing good him in a tag situation as
: he is. His recent muscle flex poses is a little
: annoying LoL.

One missed dropkick and one failed attempt at
an RKO being the sum of his offense is annoying.

: Eugene- Can't really say anything bad about it now,
: is it a novelty act? Maybe.

When has a similar act ever gone beyond novelty?
Rick Steiner? Is Dinsmore the next Rick Steiner.

Seriously, you should already know the answer.

: But he and Regal are two of the most interest
: character in wrestling right now.

Nothing wrong with that. I'm trying to reel in
folks who think Eugene is big business. He's
not Mankind, he's Too Cool, but the WWE needs
midcard attractions that work too, so his success
is a positive, just not earthshaking.

: Flair- Has he become somewhat of a parody of
: himself in the ring? maaaybe. But for me he's
: so legendary that he doesn't play by the same
: rules & I accept that (for me only he & Hogan
: can get away with that). I still love seeing
: him in the ring & watch him do his thing.

You've just explained how Baba could keep working
comedy matches almost until his death. Fans in
the US thought he was an embarrassment, but now
they have the perfect comparison, not that they
haven't also had one in Terry Funk for years.

: Divas- As for looks, it's a personal opinion.
: For me I think there are many pretty girls on Raw.

Like The Rock, I'd take Lillian over most of them.

: Bischoff- His role has really been pushed more
: into the background ever since Austin left. Which
: I don't mind at all, Raw has alot of talent, let
: them to shine. Bischoff is doing his role well.

I could do without the tired heel commissioner
gimmick being relied on to explain bad writing.
Why are these two fighting? Oh, because the
heel commissioner said they have to? Okay.

It's lazy, ineffective, and beyond played out.

That said, Bischoff has value. It's too bad
the WWE doesn't want to use managers very much,
particularly since many workers lack charisma.

: Christian- Thought he was really awesome right
: before WM. Even though the story was JeriTrish,
: he was totally shining as his role as complete
: jerk. He(supposedly) had no feelings for Trish.
: So why would he try to break them up? Simple
: he's a PRICK. We know people like this, who
: just wants to ruin happiness for others.

Uhhhh... he wanted Jericho for himself.

Remember the "ass cream" jokes?

: His heel act week in, week out was classic until
: WM. His act isn't as interesting now with the
: lame "I got the girl" stuff, boring.

Especially since no one buys him with her.

: A Trish hook up with Christian could have been epic,
: but it wasn't because of illogical booking and taking
: away all characteristics from Trish that could have
: added to Christian & made her pretty generic with him.

Have you ever seen "Caroline in the City?"

: Benjamin- Way too early to tell. But he does need to
: develop more then just "the guy who has HHH number"
: Also he comes out he gives me this Ivory/Victoria
: babyface presence to him. The whole way to energetic
: pumping of the fists and saying "yeah cheer me yeah
: come on" motion, and not really being comfortable
: in his character & letting the cheers come to him.

He looks like a green indy worker playing babyface.

: But it's forgivable as his character isn't that well
: developed yet.

He just wasn't ready, unlike Dinsmore.

Frank
Pages: Prev 1 2 3
Thread rated: 4.33
Pages: Prev 1 2 3
Thread ahead: WWE Judgment Day Poll Shows Truth!
Next thread: Raw Workrate Report 5/17/04
Previous thread: Mark Jindrak (re: Velocity)
(6287 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Hoping this thread isn't nuked or causing people trouble, but understanding if it does and why it could disappear...with that in mind, I say give KaZaa a try...i've had good luck downloading stuff from there.
- spf, Match AVIs (2002)
Related threads: 20 Man Battle Royal Winner - RAw Workrate Report May 10, 2004 - Raw 5-10 - More...
The W - Pro Wrestling - A Review of the RAW Roster... (Page 3)Register and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.59 seconds.