The W
Views: 95756783
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
23.4.14 0840
The W - Baseball - A question for you baseball experts
This thread has 23 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Pages: 1(1300 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (7 total)
Mr. Boffo
Scrapple








Since: 24.3.02
From: Oshkosh, WI

Since last post: 268 days
Last activity: 229 days
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.44
I have to admit, I'm not a baseball fan. But I watch ESPNEWS, so I see baseball scores occasionally. My question is about which pitcher gets the Win, the Loss, and sometimes the Save. How do they decide that? Is there like a formula, or is it subjective?



NOTE: The above post makes no sense. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Promote this thread!
Big Bad
Scrapple








Since: 4.1.02
From: Dorchester, Ontario

Since last post: 2 days
Last activity: 7 hours
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.54
Most times it's pretty easy to figure out. If a starting pitcher throws at least five innings and leaves the game with his team leading, he's in line for the win. A starter that leaves the game with his team losing is on the hook for the loss. If the game becomes tied at any point, then both starters are no longer the pitchers of record. After that, it's generally the last pitcher of record for the winning team that gets the win, whereas the pitcher that gives up the winning runs gets the L.

As for saves, I believe a pitcher gets a save if he comes into the game with his team down by 4 or fewer runs. I think it's also a save situation if his team is up by 7, but if the bases are loaded when Closer comes in.



Over 1300 posts and still never a Wiener of the Day!

In the issues of December 16th, 2000 to November 10th, 2001, we may have given the impression that George W. Bush had been legally and duly elected president of the United States. We now understand that this may have been incorrect, and that the election result is still too close to call. The Economist apologizes for any inconvenience.
--- The Economist, 11/17/01
cfgb
Lap cheong








Since: 2.1.02
From: Ottawa, Ontario

Since last post: 15 days
Last activity: 8 hours
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.87
Wrong about the save...

A save is earned if you come into the game where your team leads by 3 runs or less... The ONLY time you may lead by 4 runs and earn a save is if you come into the game and the bases are loaded - thus the tying run is at the plate.

A save may also be earned if you pitch 3 or more innings to finish the game, having not relinquished the lead at any time. The score is irrelevant at that point in time.

I trust that helps.



Contact cfgb
Visit SHOOTING STAR PRESS - looking for writers
CRZ
Big Brother
Administrator








Since: 9.12.01
From: ミネアポリス

Since last post: 10 hours
Last activity: 6 hours
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#4 Posted on

    Originally posted by Mr. Boffo
    I have to admit, I'm not a baseball fan. But I watch ESPNEWS, so I see baseball scores occasionally. My question is about which pitcher gets the Win, the Loss, and sometimes the Save. How do they decide that? Is there like a formula, or is it subjective?
No offense, but if you were REALLY intereted in the most basic of the rules of baseball, it probably wouldn't kill you to actually do your own research instead of asking on this forum. That's not really what it's here for.



©CRZ™
Mr. Boffo
Scrapple








Since: 24.3.02
From: Oshkosh, WI

Since last post: 268 days
Last activity: 229 days
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.44
I apologize, I did not realize that the winning and losing pitcher were actually part of the official baseball rules, as is stated here. http://www.baseballscorecard.com/faq.htm#WinLossSave
In retrospect, it seems obvious that I should have looked online first. Believe me, Zed, I don't try to be stupid and/or annoying. It just happens sometimes.

So, can anyone explain the infield fly rule? I'm just kidding.



NOTE: The above post makes no sense. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Net Hack Slasher
Banger








Since: 6.1.02
From: Outer reaches of your mind

Since last post: 3406 days
Last activity: 1826 days
#6 Posted on

    Originally posted by cfgb
    Wrong about the save...

    A save is earned if you come into the game where your team leads by 3 runs or less... The ONLY time you may lead by 4 runs and earn a save is if you come into the game and the bases are loaded - thus the tying run is at the plate.



I think it's considered a save if you come into the game and the tying run is on deck. So you only need 2 guys on base to make it a save on a 4 run game.



cause there's limits to our liberties.
'Least I hope and pray that there are,
cause those liberal freaks go too far.

I'll crush all opposition to me
And I'll make Ted Kennedy pay
If he fights back, I'll say that he's gay
pieman
As young as
he feels








Since: 11.12.01
From: China, Maine

Since last post: 5 days
Last activity: 11 min.
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.21


Enough already! Here is the official rule from Major League Baseball:

SAVES FOR RELIEF PITCHERS
10.20
Credit a pitcher with a save when he meets all three of the following conditions: (1) He is the finishing pitcher in a game won by his club; and (2) He is not the winning pitcher; and (3) He qualifies under one of the following conditions: (a) He enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitches for at least one inning; or (b) He enters the game, regardless of the count, with the potential tying run either on base, or at bat, or on deck (that is, the potential tying run is either already on base or is one of the first two batsmen he faces); or (c) He pitches effectively for at least three innings. No more than one save may be credited in each game.


So there.






He's Rolie Polie Olie - and in his world of curves and curls, he's the swellest kid around.
Pages: 1Thread ahead: Somebody slap Jose
Next thread: Blue Jays Soaring
Previous thread: All-Star Player Reps
(1300 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
They overpaid ... of course if they win a title then it is probably worth it.
- BigDaddyLoco, Papelbon to Philliess (2011)
The W - Baseball - A question for you baseball expertsRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.086 seconds.