The W
Views: 97810991
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
30.7.14 1012
The W - Pro Wrestling - A Preview of the Kane Biography
This thread has 10 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 3.62
Pages: 1
(4948 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (19 total)
BorneAgain
Pinkelwurst








Since: 2.7.02
From: Bloomington, Indiana

Since last post: 2987 days
Last activity: 2503 days
#1 Posted on
Just a link away.

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/1416507477/qid=1125281611/sr=8-1/ref=pd_bbs_1/103-9490144-1843802?v=glance&s=books&n=507846

Interesting, though there's no way they'll keep continuity knowing WWE writer's are behind it.

(edited by BorneAgain on 28.8.05 1916)


World Wrestling Entertainment: for over 50 years the worldwide leader in pissing smart fans off
Promote this thread!
The Goon
Boudin blanc
Moderator








Since: 2.1.02
From: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 3 hours
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.08
Oh wow, that first chapter is something else. Glen Callaway? Paul Grimm?
JST
Liverwurst








Since: 20.1.02
From: Quebec City, CAN

Since last post: 16 days
Last activity: 5 days
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.93
"Glen Callaway"

Lame.



I got nothin'.
Destrucity
Boerewors








Since: 21.4.04
From: New York, NY, USA

Since last post: 2812 days
Last activity: 2719 days
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.64
"Susanna Kane"? Boooooooooooooooo!



Speak to me! Warriors!
CHAPLOW
Morcilla








Since: 14.5.04
From: right behind you

Since last post: 43 days
Last activity: 43 days
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.66
KANE: "You can bet I'll be careful, sir. I surely will."

Ha! sure Kane would say that.

Also, look at this line;

"Oh, my. Look at that." The nurse put her hands on her hips and shook her head. "Your bed's on fire, I'm afraid."

Talk about taking it easy.




Vash: "This world is made of... LOVE and PEACE!"
ekedolphin
Scrapple








Since: 12.1.02
From: Indianapolis, IN; now residing in Suffolk, VA

Since last post: 41 days
Last activity: 5 days
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.29
I may have read it wrong, but the "Your bed's on fire, I'm afraid" line happened in a dream sequence, didn't it?

Also, Kane was four years old when he said the other line.

Myself, I think the first chapter was very good, and I'll probably get the book.



“Great. He spends skill points on Perform (Kazoo), and now I have to make a Knowledge (Limits of My Own Sanity) skill check."
--Roy Greenhilt, The Order of the Stick

Four-Time Wiener of the Day (5/27/02; 7/3/02; 7/30/04; 8/28/04)

The Only Five-Time (and Last) N.E.W. World Heavyweight Champion

Certified RFMC Member-- Ask To See My Credentials!

dMp
Banger








Since: 4.1.02
From: The Hague, Netherlands (Europe)

Since last post: 18 hours
Last activity: 1 hour
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.58
It's hard to make a prediction on how this book will turn out based on this chapter.

I actually like how they weave fact and fiction.
The Callaway family, maiden name Kane, with kids Mark and Glenn Jacob(!)
If you have to make up something, you might as well do it like this.
Paul's last name NOT being Bearer makes it sound a bit more real as well.
Other than that the chapter doesn't tell us all that much. Little Glen is confused about a fire which he has nightmares about in his subconscious state. Could be interesting

And why couldn't they maintain continuity? There are so many gaps to fill they can always work around already known events and make things logical.

(edited by dMp on 29.8.05 1216)


*sigh* Why bother?
Craigerson
Cotechino








Since: 4.8.03
From: Maryland

Since last post: 2972 days
Last activity: 2971 days
AIM:  
#8 Posted on
"Mark was always faster. Bigger, stronger. Better."



Jim Smith
Goetta








Since: 17.10.04
From: Bloomington, IL

Since last post: 2214 days
Last activity: 1646 days
#9 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.38
    Originally posted by dMp
    And why couldn't they maintain continuity? There are so many gaps to fill they can always work around already known events and make things logical.


As many times as Taker, Bearer, and Kane have revealed they were lying about their pasts, the book should be free to use as much or as little continuity as it likes.
Destrucity
Boerewors








Since: 21.4.04
From: New York, NY, USA

Since last post: 2812 days
Last activity: 2719 days
#10 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.64
    Originally posted by Jim Smith
    As many times as Taker, Bearer, and Kane have revealed they were lying about their pasts, the book should be free to use as much or as little continuity as it likes.
Yeah, actually, I'm a little confused about all these calls for the book to maintain continuity when, really, there is no continuity.



Speak to me! Warriors!
StaggerLee
Scrapple








Since: 3.10.02
From: Right side of the tracks

Since last post: 6 hours
Last activity: 2 hours
AIM:  
Y!:
#11 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.56

    The EMTs had gotten him from Marfa to Big Bend Regional Hospital in Alpine in fifteen minutes


What? Not from DEATH VALLEY? Where is Marfa?
Phantom
Frankfurter








Since: 17.3.02

Since last post: 2290 days
Last activity: 2266 days
#12 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.97
I'm frightened by the prospect of a Katie Vick chapter.
Mr. Boffo
Scrapple








Since: 24.3.02
From: Oshkosh, WI

Since last post: 366 days
Last activity: 327 days
#13 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.12
Marfa is apparently in Texas.




In the real world, WWE believes that no matter what our race, religious creed or ethnic background in America, we all share the common bond of being Americans. American-Arabs are a part of the fabric of America, and they should be embraced by all of us.

Check out how The-W.Com's WWE Fantasy League is going at smartass.atspace.com.
Thanks to SOK for the hosting!
Last updated August 23rd, 2005
Alessandro
Lap cheong








Since: 2.1.02
From: Worcester MA

Since last post: 47 days
Last activity: 25 days
#14 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.04
Wait, so the only reason the writer set this "biography" in Marfa was to tie the story of Kane in with the death of James Dean ... WTF?






UNLESH THE ANIMAL - Sign in crowd highlighted by brilliant WWE cameraman during Batista's drafting on Smackdown!




TheMikeSays
Bauerwurst








Since: 30.10.04
From: Kalamazoo, MI, USA

Since last post: 2969 days
Last activity: 2716 days
AIM:  
#15 Posted on | Instant Rating: 0.89
This book sounds like a big stinky pile.



YAPPAPI STRAPPATION, BROTHER!!!
KaneRobot
Morcilla








Since: 24.2.02
From: Bowels

Since last post: 2340 days
Last activity: 1632 days
#16 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.73
    Originally posted by ekedolphin
    I may have read it wrong, but the "Your bed's on fire, I'm afraid" line happened in a dream sequence, didn't it?


Yes.

I'm working on this book now. It's ok if you're interested enough to want to read it. I've certainly read worse "scary" fiction books. I don't have a lot of free time so it's usually just a chapter or two here and there, but it's holding my interest.

However, little "sure it's a totally fake novel, but it's also really real" things like Kane's name being "Glen Jacob Callaway" are kind of distracting.

They do explain UT & Kane's zombie/cyborg recovery powers by saying it's a disease called HSAN (which is a real disorder). Sadly, whenever it's mentioned in the book I always see "Hassan." Ok, so they were totally incapable of feeling pain...but I recall Kane a' gruntin' and a' screamin' in a cage match with Edge a couple weeks ago. Oooh...maybe he outgrew it. Yeah.

I haven't read the whole thing yet though, so maybe there's a reason.

    Originally posted by Phantom
    I'm frightened by the prospect of a Katie Vick chapter.


Katie Vick's mom is a social worker who visits "Glen" in the hospital frequently after the house fire. There are plenty of Katie Vick chapters. In fact, the little teaser on the first page is when the car accident happens.



REMEMBER HIM FONDLY...
http://muhammadhassan.ytmnd.com
Above Average 1
Salami








Since: 27.4.03
From: Nova Scotia Canada

Since last post: 113 days
Last activity: 4 hours
#17 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.94
Just finished reading the book and I thought it was good, though I did feel as if it read like two different books. Also the way they tried to make it seem like the whole Kane vs Undertaker feud was real, kind of seemed silly, but other then that it was a good book. I'd recommend it.
Cerebus
Knackwurst








Since: 17.11.02

Since last post: 15 hours
Last activity: 10 hours
#18 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.72
I'm sorry, but I just have to ask this... DOES Kane screw Katie in the funeral parlor?

...again, I'm SO sorry, but SOMEONE was gonna ask at some point.
Above Average 1
Salami








Since: 27.4.03
From: Nova Scotia Canada

Since last post: 113 days
Last activity: 4 hours
#19 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.94
    Originally posted by Cerebus
    I'm sorry, but I just have to ask this... DOES Kane screw Katie in the funeral parlor?

    ...again, I'm SO sorry, but SOMEONE was gonna ask at some point.



Spoiler Below: Highlight text to read
Kane just runs away after the car accident and everyone just assumes that he died and that his body was never found.
Thread rated: 3.62
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: Gail Kim signs with TNA
Next thread: Mark Jindrak & Matt Morgan reality show?
Previous thread: 2005 PWI 500 (the only list thread CRZ allows)
(4948 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
y should he care
- xxxdeadman, Andre the Giant mugshot (2003)
The W - Pro Wrestling - A Preview of the Kane BiographyRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.395 seconds.