#1 Posted on 22.10.02 2021.14 Reposted on: 22.10.09 2029.02
Can someone who knows hockey help me out?
Sami Kapanen is playing tonight... The score is 3-1 for Carolina.
Sami has a goal... His plus/minus is -1.
HOW IS THIS POSSIBLE???
I always understood +/- to be the number of goals for against the number allowed while the player is on the ice. Now clearly, if Sami scored, he was on the ice... Which means he should be +1. Now if he was on while the Islanders scored, that sets him back to 0.
As far as I understand the rule, his -1 is impossible. And this is certainly not the first time I have seen this.
Since last post: 1437 days Last activity: 1403 days
#2 Posted on 22.10.02 2028.19 Reposted on: 22.10.09 2029.04
From the NHL.com FAQ:
Plus/Minus A player is awarded a "plus" each time he is on the ice when his Club scores an even-strength or shorthanded goal. He receives a "minus" if he is on the ice for an even-strength or shorthanded goal scored by the opposing Club. The difference in these numbers in considered the player's "plus-minus" statistic.