The W
Views: 146082457
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Color chart | Log in for more!
23.9.12 1036
The 7 - Baseball - Baseball scoring question
This thread has 2 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
(14 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (5 total)
Eddie Famous
Andouille
Level: 95

Posts: 2135/2221
EXP: 8435200
For next: 233438

Since: 11.12.01
From: Catlin IL

Since last post: 972 days
Last activity: 513 days
#1 Posted on 11.6.12 2127.57
Reposted on: 11.6.19 2128.43
This actually happened in a jr. pony league game I was in. Bases loaded, no out. A flyball is going to drop between the 2B and RF. Man on 3d is scoring, I was on 2nd and saw it was going to fall so I was "running" and was going to score. The ball bounced away from the fielders. The man from first beats a bad throw to home. The batter is coming home too, safely, but is called out by the home plate ump invoking "Infield Fly". So how does this go in the scorebook?
Promote this thread!
Vgmastr
Cotechino
Level: 24

Posts: 78/93
EXP: 68142
For next: 9984

Since: 3.12.03
From: Neenah, WI

Since last post: 39 days
Last activity: 3 days
#2 Posted on 11.6.12 2146.19
Reposted on: 11.6.19 2152.52
The fielder closest to the ball gets credit with the put out, runners advance at their own risk. That said, it should only be called on a sure out, not a blooper that falls in between the infielders and outfielders. Based on the situation you described, sounds like a bad call by the umpire.
Peter The Hegemon
Lap cheong
Level: 85

Posts: 1412/1753
EXP: 5717513
For next: 181051

Since: 11.2.03
From: Hackettstown, NJ

Since last post: 57 days
Last activity: 1 day
#3 Posted on 11.6.12 2151.24
Reposted on: 11.6.19 2159.01
    Originally posted by Eddie Famous
    This actually happened in a jr. pony league game I was in. Bases loaded, no out. A flyball is going to drop between the 2B and RF. Man on 3d is scoring, I was on 2nd and saw it was going to fall so I was "running" and was going to score. The ball bounced away from the fielders. The man from first beats a bad throw to home. The batter is coming home too, safely, but is called out by the home plate ump invoking "Infield Fly". So how does this go in the scorebook?


The offical scorer decides which fielder had the best chance to catch the ball--likely the 2B, from your description. Any runners who advanced would be scored as a sacrifice fly.

Your description is a little weird, though. You seem to be saying that the umpire didn't invoke the infield fly rule until the batter scored. The whole point of the rule is to invoke it while the ball is in the air so the runners know that they don't have to make the next base. And, really, if it was clear that the ball was going to fall in, the ump shouldn't have invoked the rule at all. The rule says it's only invoked when the ball could be caught with ordinary effort.
edoug
Summer sausage
Level: 47

Posts: 400/447
EXP: 713588
For next: 52621

Since: 13.2.04
From: Maine

Since last post: 1559 days
Last activity: 49 days
#4 Posted on 11.6.12 2159.41
Reposted on: 11.6.19 2201.46
Like Vgmaster said, the batter is out by flyout to nearest fielder. The batter also gets credit for either two or three rbi's, depending if an error was charged on the throw home on the third runner.

Here is an account of a similar play:

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/baseball-insider/post/an-rbi-infield-fly-but-no-sacrifice-fly/2011/04/22/AFHHMQOE_blog.html
TheOldMan
Landjager
Level: 65

Posts: 831/937
EXP: 2233834
For next: 101806

Since: 13.2.03
From: Chicago

Since last post: 1637 days
Last activity: 224 days
#5 Posted on 12.6.12 0033.45
Reposted on: 12.6.19 0037.23
Should've submitted this to the real expert:

(image removed)


Answer:

Spoiler Below: Highlight text to read
Matthews' run counts. Moreland's base was first, not second. He could be put out only by a touch at first or by being tagged with the ball while returning. Therefore Matthews scored before Moreland was retired for the third out. (From Section 7.10a, as of October 1984)
ALL ORIGINAL POSTS IN THIS THREAD ARE NOW AVAILABLE
Thread ahead: Cain throws perfect game
Next thread: Roger Clemens verdict: Not guilty on all six counts
Previous thread: Six Mariners, One No-Hitter
(14 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
The 7 - Baseball - Baseball scoring questionRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board - 7 year recycle

ZimBoard
©2001-2019 Brothers Zim
This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.077 seconds.