The W
Views: 129249521
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Color chart | Log in for more!
24.11.10 0656
The 7 - Baseball - Scoring question Register and log in to post!
(253 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (7 total)
Eddie Famous
Andouille
Level: 93

Posts: 1748/2221
EXP: 7989548
For next: 63292

Since: 11.12.01
From: Catlin IL

Since last post: 304 days
Last activity: 1 day
#1 Posted on 19.5.08 0905.18
Reposted on: 19.5.15 0905.21
This happened in the Illinois-Purdue series over the weekend:

Man on first, one out. 2-2 count on the batter.

The batter tries to bunt, but the ball goes off his bat back to the catcher, who bobbles it, catches it and throws to first to catch the runner off base since he didn't tag up.

SO, is it a strikeout (foul bunt on 2 strikes) batter out on the caught third strike and runner should've been tagged out at first?

or is it a foul pop out, runner caught off first?

The replay showed the bunt went over the batter's head as he crouched but not necessarily over his head at standing-level.

Promote this thread!
redsoxnation
Scrapple
Level: 157

Posts: 5924/7534
EXP: 48944762
For next: 634580

Since: 24.7.02

Since last post: 1607 days
Last activity: 1607 days
#2 Posted on 19.5.08 0910.11
Reposted on: 19.5.15 0910.15
Bunting with 2 strikes AND 1 out? That is just bad baseball. If the ball elevated, without seeing it, I'd go with it being a pop-up more than a tip, thus the right call.
Since it was ruled a pop-up, then there is no K, it is just a 2-3 DP.

(edited by redsoxnation on 19.5.08 1023)
Eddie Famous
Andouille
Level: 93

Posts: 1749/2221
EXP: 7989548
For next: 63292

Since: 11.12.01
From: Catlin IL

Since last post: 304 days
Last activity: 1 day
#3 Posted on 19.5.08 0912.37
Reposted on: 19.5.15 0912.46
We knew if it was dropped, it was a K.

But isn;t it a K anyway on the scoresheet?
thecubsfan
Scrapple
Moderator
Level: 144

Posts: 2195/6111
EXP: 36468315
For next: 242079

Since: 10.12.01
From: Aurora, IL

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 9 hours
#4 Posted on 19.5.08 0925.12
Reposted on: 19.5.15 0925.28
Some googling found a wikianswers page claiming it's a flyout. It pointed me to the correct rule:

    Originally posted by 10.15.4
    (4) bunts foul on third strike, unless such bunt on third strike results in a foul fly caught by any fielder, in which case the official scorer shall not score a strikeout and shall credit the fielder who catches such foul fly with a putout.


Of course, this was an NCAA game. This is what they've got for rule 10.23:


    SECTION 23. A strikeout is credited to the pitcher when a third strike is delivered to a batter, even if the third strike is a wild pitch or is not caught or the batter reaches first base. It also is a strikeout if an attempted bunt on a third strike is a foul that is not caught.


It's a foul pop up, so the first baseman just needed to tag the bad, not the runner. (DP23) Is that what they ruled?

(edited by thecubsfan on 19.5.08 0925)
Eddie Famous
Andouille
Level: 93

Posts: 1750/2221
EXP: 7989548
For next: 63292

Since: 11.12.01
From: Catlin IL

Since last post: 304 days
Last activity: 1 day
#5 Posted on 19.5.08 1443.30
Reposted on: 19.5.15 1443.30
It was scored DP2-3 with the batter caught off for not tagging.

However, since the ball was fouled pretty much straight back, is it a foul fly or foul tip?
Gugs
Bierwurst
Level: 86

Posts: 1822/1857
EXP: 5997672
For next: 144459

Since: 9.7.02
From: Sleep (That's where I'm a viking)

Since last post: 1646 days
Last activity: 774 days
AIM:  
Y!:
#6 Posted on 19.5.08 1520.29
Reposted on: 19.5.15 1520.44
    Originally posted by Eddie Famous
    However, since the ball was fouled pretty much straight back, is it a foul fly or foul tip?


Foul fly. Foul tips only result in strikes or strikeouts.
thecubsfan
Scrapple
Moderator
Level: 144

Posts: 2196/6111
EXP: 36468315
For next: 242079

Since: 10.12.01
From: Aurora, IL

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 9 hours
#7 Posted on 19.5.08 1530.00
Reposted on: 19.5.15 1530.21
Going to the rule book again


    A foul tip is a ball batted by the batter while standing within
    the lines of the batter’s box that travels directly from the bat to the catcher’s
    hands and is caught legally by the catcher. If trapped or not caught, it simply
    is a foul ball. Any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It
    is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball first has touched the catcher’s
    glove or hand.
.

My guess is the catchers bobble was enough for the umpire to decide the ball did not take a direct path (or hit of some other catching equipment) and so it becomes a foul fly instead of a foul tip.
ALL ORIGINAL POSTS IN THIS THREAD ARE NOW AVAILABLE
Thread ahead: No-no by Lester
Next thread: what a pitching line
Previous thread: Over-the-shoulder catch, high five a fan, double play at 1st, nothing but net
(253 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
The 7 - Baseball - Scoring questionRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board - 7 year recycle

ZimBoard
©2001-2015 Brothers Zim
This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.607 seconds.