The W
Views: 98474542
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
27.8.14 2029
The W - Print - 52 Week 2 Reviews (spoilers)
This thread has 16 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 4.65
Pages: 1
(169 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (19 total)
Doc_whiskey
Frankfurter








Since: 6.8.02
From: St. Louis

Since last post: 26 days
Last activity: 26 days
AIM:  
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 9.00
I picked up JLI #1, Batgirl #1, and Static Shock #1. Here is what I thought (spoilers included)

Static Shock: This was the most disappointing of the three since I loved this chracter since Dwayne McDuffie created him. The Rebirth of the Cool and Trial by Fire are two awesome stories and the cartoon was always fun. However, in this book they take Static out of Dakota City and put him in New York. I am not saying he has to live in a certain city but so far they have taken away pretty much all of his supporting cast except for his family and his rogue's gallery is nowhere to be found. The story itself was just ok, and the art wasn't great IMO. I am not sure I will continue to get this, which is a shame because I was looking forward to it.

Batgirl #1: Gail Simone is one of my favorite writers ever in comics, and this was a pretty solid first issue. Basically, the Killing Joke still happened, though they haven't explained how she is walking yet. The end of this deals with a pretty big issue coming out of the whole killing joke story and I am very interested in seeing where they go with this. I am also somewhat curious about the new villain they introduced. Definitely will continue with this.

JLI #1-This was probably the most fun out of the books I got, with Booster, Guy, and Batman kind of stealing the show. The international flavor I think will be fun, and the developing rivalry between Rocket Red and August general in Iron I think will be quite fun. Basically the UN forms their own Justice League and want Booster Gold to lead which upsets Guy. Meanwhile Batman was not asked to be a part of the group but he is there without UN knowledge to have some contact between Justice League teams (and my guess is to help Booster as well since he defends him to Guy several times). This was a fun book and I am definitely going to keep getting this.

All in all 2 out of 3 ain't bad.



Lisa: Poor predicatble Bart, always picks rock
Bart: Good ole rock, nothing beats that
Promote this thread!
John Orquiola
Scrapple








Since: 28.2.02
From: Boston

Since last post: 60 days
Last activity: 60 days
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.43
I guess I should have just started a new thread. Here's what I wrote on the other thread:

Justice League International #1 sucked. Boring. Remedial superhero team book, trite dialogue and characterizations. Uninteresting.

Stormwatch #1. Barely understood what was happening, who those characters are, why Martian Manhunter was with them. I'd read very little of The Authority in the past so I had a rudimentary knowledge of those characters, but as an intro to new readers, which I essentially am, I think it failed. Didn't get me interested in learning more.

Green Arrow #1. This was a lot of fun. At Comic Con, I attended a panel moderated by Jim Lee about his New 52 costume designs. The crowd hissed and moaned as he showed photo after photo of the new costumes, but when he showed the new Green Arrow suit, someone yelled, "That one you can keep!" which popped the crowd. The new Green Arrow is basically 95% the design from Smallville. And I think that's a good thing. The Robin Hood beard is gone, which I think is great. He looks and acts a lot like Smallville's Green Arrow, with a global crime fighting network called Q-Core, a separate entity from Queen Industries. He's Green Arrow mixed in with some James Bond and a little bit of Steve Jobs with his Q-Phones and Q-tech. It's a pretty good superhero adventure book. And it's impossible to read and not hear Justin Hartley's voice in your head.

Batgirl #1. Here she is. Barbara Gordon, back in black. Character-wise, it's real good. Gail Simone knows Barbara Gordon intimately. She's brave, smart, human, and flawed. Not a lot happens, really. A new villain is introduced, and the crux of the story is a basic Batgirl saves a couple from a home invasion by both skill and luck. (Joker shooting her in The Killing Joke was a home invasion.) Later, Batgirl meets the new villain, which touches back on her dread of the day Joker shot her and put her in a wheelchair. How can she walk? The book doesn't really say. "A miracle happened." But what? We know now The Killing Joke happened three years ago, and Barbara was paralyzed for those three years, but now she's once again mobile. She was once Batman's star pupil. She is again Batgirl. The best moment is how Batgirl reacts when the new villain, Mirror, points a gun at her gut. Good first issue. It's quite nice to see the real Batgirl back.

Plus new stuff:

Animal Man #1. Were it not for Action Comics and my supermarkdom for Superman, I'd call this the best comic of the week. And it probably is, actually. I was never an Animal Man reader and mainly knew him for his brief stint in Justice League Europe, but this new Animal Man is terrific. I loved the Alan Moore Watchmen-style interview with Buddy Baker that opens the book and re-introduces him. Animal Man balances strong characters, superhero action, family elements, and then takes a twist into the truly bizarre and grotesque horror that reminded me in the best way of reading trippy early 1990s Vertigo books. Again besides Action Comics, Animal Man is the title I've read so far that makes me want to keep collecting to see what happens next.

Swamp Thing #1. Nothing will ever match early 1980s Alan Moore, but this was pretty good stuff. Weaves in recent real life phenomena of groups of animals suddenly dying, and then re-introduces us to Alec Holland, who's living a Bruce/David Banner life on the run. He used to be Swamp Thing, or has memories of being Swamp Thing, but somehow isn't anymore. The dialogue and weaving of real life science and botany with the supernatural elements was compelling. Not as successful to me was the appearance of Superman. When Alec first meets him, he says, "Superman! What you doing here?" but my reaction was, "Superman! What the FUCK are you wearing?!" The new Jim Lee suit, the "ceremonial Kryptonian armor" is ghastly. Anyway, like Animal Man, a bizarre dream sequence with grotesque creatures leads to a shocking twist ending as Swamp Thing appears. Neat.

What fun to read comics again, DC.

(edited by John Orquiola on 8.9.11 0614)


@BackoftheHead

www.backofthehead.com
Cerebus
Knackwurst








Since: 17.11.02

Since last post: 29 days
Last activity: 2 days
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.03
The Killing Joke was a truly great book and a product of it's time, however, having Barbara stay paralyzed because of a gunshot is also a 'product of it's time'. With today's modern medicine, she should be able to walk. My problem with this book and really ANY book written by Gail Simone is that she doesn't not know how to write for a male dominant audience.

As a comic book fan, I don't want the main female character of a book who is supposed to be this bad ass superhero who has faced the Joker or Two-Face or any other so called 'super villain' to freak out over a stranger with a gun pointed at her. Why must the female character have to be damaged good or have some other problem causing her to not be able to do the job she chooses to do? I feel that she doesn't know how to write these kinds of characters.

Her secondary characters seem okay, but every main female character is written as if they don't deserve to wear the uniform and her main, lead male characters are written as if she wants to sleep with them. Somehow, someone at Marvel read a few issues of The Simpsons comic and decided to throw her a bone and give her a book to write. I really wish they hadn't

Look what she did with Deadpool. She turned him 'cute' and had no idea how to write the character. Sure, it had it's moments, but it was not 'Deadpool'. They even ended up changing the name of the book, even though, at the time, Rob Leifeld could have been responsible for that as well. Catman is another one she screwed up. She took a forgotten character used as a joke from an issue of Brad Meltzer's Green Arrow and turned him into this Kazar/Bruce Wayne amalgam. What's that all about? She probably made him her pretend boyfriend. (Yeah, that's sexist... so is this medium. I don't care.)

The only reason I can see her liking Barbara Gordon so much is because back when she was a little girl, she probably wanted to be the Batgirl she saw on the Batman TV show. They both have red hair and Yvonne Craig was pretty. Barbara is everything Gail Simone wants to be, but since she isn't, she feels the need to drag this character down and make her flawed. I find this sickening. That scene in the book where Batgirl stands there frozen because a gun was pointed at her was disgusting. That's not a character moment, it's bad story telling cause she can't write a strong female character.

Look at what she did to Wonder Woman. In her first issue writing the this classic, godly, perfect female character... and turns her human. Again, she takes a character that she obviously doesn't know how to write for and fucks it up by changing what she is in what she can attempt to write.

She's just a terrible writer and I have no idea why she has 'fans'. Well, actually, evidently, she likes to troll internet message boards and drum up support for herself as the poor female writer in a male dominated media format. Well, if you can't correctly write for the medium, go back to scripting Simpsons comics.

(wow, I think I might end up regretting writing this at some point...)



Forget it Josh... it's Cerebustown.
Doc_whiskey
Frankfurter








Since: 6.8.02
From: St. Louis

Since last post: 26 days
Last activity: 26 days
AIM:  
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 9.00
    Originally posted by Cerebus
    The Killing Joke was a truly great book and a product of it's time, however, having Barbara stay paralyzed because of a gunshot is also a 'product of it's time'. With today's modern medicine, she should be able to walk. My problem with this book and really ANY book written by Gail Simone is that she doesn't not know how to write for a male dominant audience.

    As a comic book fan, I don't want the main female character of a book who is supposed to be this bad ass superhero who has faced the Joker or Two-Face or any other so called 'super villain' to freak out over a stranger with a gun pointed at her. Why must the female character have to be damaged good or have some other problem causing her to not be able to do the job she chooses to do? I feel that she doesn't know how to write these kinds of characters.

    Her secondary characters seem okay, but every main female character is written as if they don't deserve to wear the uniform and her main, lead male characters are written as if she wants to sleep with them. Somehow, someone at Marvel read a few issues of The Simpsons comic and decided to throw her a bone and give her a book to write. I really wish they hadn't

    Look what she did with Deadpool. She turned him 'cute' and had no idea how to write the character. Sure, it had it's moments, but it was not 'Deadpool'. They even ended up changing the name of the book, even though, at the time, Rob Leifeld could have been responsible for that as well. Catman is another one she screwed up. She took a forgotten character used as a joke from an issue of Brad Meltzer's Green Arrow and turned him into this Kazar/Bruce Wayne amalgam. What's that all about? She probably made him her pretend boyfriend. (Yeah, that's sexist... so is this medium. I don't care.)

    The only reason I can see her liking Barbara Gordon so much is because back when she was a little girl, she probably wanted to be the Batgirl she saw on the Batman TV show. They both have red hair and Yvonne Craig was pretty. Barbara is everything Gail Simone wants to be, but since she isn't, she feels the need to drag this character down and make her flawed. I find this sickening. That scene in the book where Batgirl stands there frozen because a gun was pointed at her was disgusting. That's not a character moment, it's bad story telling cause she can't write a strong female character.

    Look at what she did to Wonder Woman. In her first issue writing the this classic, godly, perfect female character... and turns her human. Again, she takes a character that she obviously doesn't know how to write for and fucks it up by changing what she is in what she can attempt to write.

    She's just a terrible writer and I have no idea why she has 'fans'. Well, actually, evidently, she likes to troll internet message boards and drum up support for herself as the poor female writer in a male dominated media format. Well, if you can't correctly write for the medium, go back to scripting Simpsons comics.

    (wow, I think I might end up regretting writing this at some point...)


Wow..well you are entitled to your opinion. I strongly disagree with it, but different strokes for different folks I guess.



Lisa: Poor predicatble Bart, always picks rock
Bart: Good ole rock, nothing beats that
El Nastio
Andouille








Since: 14.1.02
From: Ottawa Ontario, by way of Walkerton

Since last post: 6 days
Last activity: 3 hours
ICQ:  
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.87
    Originally posted by Cerebus
    The Killing Joke was a truly great book and a product of it's time, however, having Barbara stay paralyzed because of a gunshot is also a 'product of it's time'. With today's modern medicine, she should be able to walk.


I can see your point on this one.


    Originally posted by Cerebus
    My problem with this book and really ANY book written by Gail Simone is that she doesn't not know how to write for a male dominant audience.

    As a comic book fan, I don't want the main female character of a book who is supposed to be this bad ass superhero who has faced the Joker or Two-Face or any other so called 'super villain' to freak out over a stranger with a gun pointed at her. Why must the female character have to be damaged good or have some other problem causing her to not be able to do the job she chooses to do? I feel that she doesn't know how to write these kinds of characters.

    Her secondary characters seem okay, but every main female character is written as if they don't deserve to wear the uniform and her main, lead male characters are written as if she wants to sleep with them. Somehow, someone at Marvel read a few issues of The Simpsons comic and decided to throw her a bone and give her a book to write. I really wish they hadn't

    Look what she did with Deadpool. She turned him 'cute' and had no idea how to write the character. Sure, it had it's moments, but it was not 'Deadpool'. They even ended up changing the name of the book, even though, at the time, Rob Leifeld could have been responsible for that as well. Catman is another one she screwed up. She took a forgotten character used as a joke from an issue of Brad Meltzer's Green Arrow and turned him into this Kazar/Bruce Wayne amalgam. What's that all about? She probably made him her pretend boyfriend. (Yeah, that's sexist... so is this medium. I don't care.)

    The only reason I can see her liking Barbara Gordon so much is because back when she was a little girl, she probably wanted to be the Batgirl she saw on the Batman TV show. They both have red hair and Yvonne Craig was pretty. Barbara is everything Gail Simone wants to be, but since she isn't, she feels the need to drag this character down and make her flawed. I find this sickening. That scene in the book where Batgirl stands there frozen because a gun was pointed at her was disgusting. That's not a character moment, it's bad story telling cause she can't write a strong female character.

    Look at what she did to Wonder Woman. In her first issue writing the this classic, godly, perfect female character... and turns her human. Again, she takes a character that she obviously doesn't know how to write for and fucks it up by changing what she is in what she can attempt to write.

    She's just a terrible writer and I have no idea why she has 'fans'. Well, actually, evidently, she likes to troll internet message boards and drum up support for herself as the poor female writer in a male dominated media format. Well, if you can't correctly write for the medium, go back to scripting Simpsons comics.

    (wow, I think I might end up regretting writing this at some point...)


There are three words which will completely shatter your entire post:

The Secret Six.

A fantastic, well written series by Gail Simone.



After a (very) long hiatus, I have begun to write again. And this time, I'm not alone!

Click Here (basisgames.blogspot.com) to check out Basis Games - Video Game/Console Reviews, Commentaries, and Analysis. Check it out!
J. Kyle
Boudin blanc








Since: 21.2.02
From: The Land of Aloha

Since last post: 25 days
Last activity: 2 days
AIM:  
Y!:
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.64
Nous ne nous pouvons pas sortir.
Cerebus you make a couple salient points that get buried by the asinine sexism of the "Can't write for a male audience" statement. Then, after the salient points you descend right into sexism and your mad on for Simone.

It's cool if you prefer characters with less flaws (I do not, being a recovered Marvel fan) but to shrug at/talk wistfully of the casual sexism which is one of the reasons the industry (as is) is rotting away, and one of the reasons it deserves to?

There's no need for that.



John Orquiola
Scrapple








Since: 28.2.02
From: Boston

Since last post: 60 days
Last activity: 60 days
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.43
    Originally posted by Cerebus
    The only reason I can see her liking Barbara Gordon so much is because back when she was a little girl, she probably wanted to be the Batgirl she saw on the Batman TV show. They both have red hair and Yvonne Craig was pretty. Barbara is everything Gail Simone wants to be, but since she isn't, she feels the need to drag this character down and make her flawed. I find this sickening. That scene in the book where Batgirl stands there frozen because a gun was pointed at her was disgusting. That's not a character moment, it's bad story telling cause she can't write a strong female character.



Wait. I'm trying to fathom this logic. You're saying, if Gail Simone were pretty like Yvonne Craig, she either may not idolize Batgirl because there'd be no reason to idolize her since they're both pretty, or she'd still idolize Batgirl but wouldn't make Batgirl 'flawed' like her (since they'd both be pretty.) Therefore, Gail would be a better writer if she were pretty and would not have scripted Batgirl freezing at a gun pointed at her midsection because she wouldn't have been momentarily reliving that same split second when Joker did the same, shot her, and paralyzed her three years. Which to you is sickening, that someone who suffered such a trauma could be afraid of it happening again so soon after regaining the ability to walk and be Batgirl. Gail Simone can't write because she isn't pretty, and all of her comics are her lashing out at perfect characters to bring them down to her un-pretty level. Huh.

    Originally posted by Cerebus
    They both have red hair


Also, Yvonne Craig had black hair and wore a wig as Batgirl, but that's neither here nor there.

(edited by John Orquiola on 8.9.11 1043)

@BackoftheHead

www.backofthehead.com
Cerebus
Knackwurst








Since: 17.11.02

Since last post: 29 days
Last activity: 2 days
#8 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.03
    Originally posted by El Nastio
    There are three words which will completely shatter your entire post:

    The Secret Six.

    A fantastic, well written series by Gail Simone.


You know, you are almost right, except for that last issue where Gail wrote for Bane... the biggest, strongest, smartest bad ass on the team, to have sex with the cute red head. Yeah, she wrote herself having sex with Bane. Internet slash fiction at it's worst.

It was completely out of character for him to do that. Bane, under every other writer who had handled him, and I liked the character in that I followed his appearances enough to know this, has never showed a sexual interest in ANYONE until Gail Simone got a hold of him.

EDIT...

    Originally posted by John Orquiola
    Wait. I'm trying to fathom this logic. You're saying, if Gail Simone were pretty like Yvonne Craig, she either may not idolize Batgirl because there'd be no reason to idolize her since they're both pretty, or she'd still idolize Batgirl but wouldn't make Batgirl 'flawed' like her (since they'd both be pretty.) Therefore, Gail would be a better writer if she were pretty and would not have scripted Batgirl freezing at a gun pointed at her midsection because she wouldn't have been momentarily reliving that same split second when Joker did the same, shot her, and paralyzed her three years. Which to you is sickening, that someone who suffered such a trauma could be afraid of it happening again so soon after regaining the ability to walk and be Batgirl. Gail Simone can't write because she isn't pretty, and all of her comics are her lashing out at perfect characters to bring them down to her un-pretty level. Huh.

      Originally posted by Cerebus
      They both have red hair


    Also, Yvonne Craig had black hair and wore a wig as Batgirl, but that's neither here nor there.


Okay. Start with the simple. Yes, the actress had black hair, but her on screen role of Batgirl was a red head Why did you even need to mention this, A little girl in her teens watching a tv show isn't gonna know that an actress on television isn't what she appears to be. When you were little and watching Star Trek, did you know Captain Kirk was really a hateful, mean man who hates Star Trek fans (now) and is all about the money. No, you thought he was the coolest dude in the galaxy.

Now, quit with Yvonne Craig. I only mentioned the actress because she played the role on television. The Batman tv show was HUGE and there is a good chunk of people who know about these characters because of that show and not the comics. In 1966, Batman was ABC Televisions #1 rated show. and is known, along with Bewitched, for helping the struggling network survive into the Seventies.

Anyway, back on topic, No, I don't believe anything can help Gail Simone be a better superhero comic writer. Again, this genre is a male genre. There are few female writers who can write these characters. Gail is not one of them. She writes fan/slash fiction. These characters deserve better than that.

In her first issue of Batgirl, We are not told how long ago her shooting took place. We are led to believe that it been long enough for her to have gone through physical therapy because she's walking just fine with no help. It can also be assumed she's undergone some mental therapy because she jumps right into action on her BatCycle that is hiding in her van and her costume is readily available. In that 'line of work' the hero would never jeopardize an innocent's life by not being physically or mentally able to do the job and for a reader to believe that one of Batman's 'students' would freak out and freeze like THAT at the sight of some random, unknown character holding a gun is extremely bad storytelling.

In The Killing Joke, I don't feel that Barbara's mental capacity was affected because she was shot. I think it's because it was the Joker, Batman's arch nemesis standing at her civilian, non-Batgirl doorway to shoot her. The mental shock comes more from the events surrounding the shooting than from the actual shooting. Bruce Wayne would be caught by surprise as well if a villain showed up at Wayne Manor. Remember Bruce Wayne: Murdered? That was a huge shock to him an threw him out of his game because it was unexpected. Finding a dead body in some random house is nothing but when the superhero life crosses into the civilian life, it throws everything into disarray.

Gail Simone cant write these characters because she can't relate to the types of stories they should be in. As much as today's media outlets put out TV shows and Movies with strong, overbearing female characters... Buffy, Dark Angel, Resident Evil, Battlestar Galactica, Tomb Raider, Le Femme Nikita... the list goes on and on of shows, movies and video games that all feature a strong female lead... but females are not interested in any of them. No, not at all.

What is the number one selling female oriented toy in America? Fucking Barbie Dolls. Girls don't want to play with guns or shit, they want to braid a dolls hair and give it a bath and dress it up. I've tried too many numerous times to get my nieces into female role models like Wonder Woman or Buffy, but they want no part of it. They wanna watch Secret Life of an American Teenager or Disney movies like Little Mermaid and Beauty and the Beast (They both HATED Mulan? I wonder why.). They want female characters to act like females and it pains me to no end. I really hope they grow outta it some day. They are each 10 and 12. When I was 10, I wanted to marry Princess Leia. When they are 10 they don't even care about that kinda stuff; What's up with kids today?

Okay. So most females I know and have known were not into the female empowerment thing. Why, I don't know, my bad luck perhaps? Whatever. Back to Gail... the way she writes strong female characters is to... take away their power and make them get by without it as a normal person would. As I mentioned, she made Wonder Woman, the strongest female charter in comics who was as close to godhood as one can get, and demoted her power level and made her human. You know who wrote an EXCELLENT Wonder Woman? John Byrne, know sexist and all around terrible human being. You know who else wrote a good Wonder Woman? Author Jodi Picoult. I thought her story was different and as an already published female writer from a different genre, she had a interesting take on the character. DC didn't give her a chance because of how Amazons Attack was driving away readers in droves.

I am not saying that Gail Simone can't write because she isn't pretty. I'm saying she can't write these kinds of characters and stories for this reader/fan base because she doesn't seem to understand what these characters should be handled and how these stories should come about. She seems to have very little knowledge of how a superhero or villain acts and reacts to things around them on a mental or physical level.

You don't take a character and in the first story you write about them, completely change everything about them. (Wonder Woman) You don't take established characters and have them do something that is completely out of their character that has never been hinted upon at all (Bane in Secret Six #36). You don't take over a title and then completely write out the main character for someone you can kinda write (Deadpool became Agent X and she was booted off the book because Deadpool fans left the book in droves). Most every book she has taken over from someone else with a loyal following... Deadpool and Wonder Woman off the top of my head, saw a steep drop in readers when she started on it. (Agent X was cancelled cause it had nothing to do with the character she was writing.)

(edited by Cerebus on 8.9.11 1732)


Forget it Josh... it's Cerebustown.
John Orquiola
Scrapple








Since: 28.2.02
From: Boston

Since last post: 60 days
Last activity: 60 days
#9 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.43
    Originally posted by Cerebus
      Originally posted by El Nastio
      There are three words which will completely shatter your entire post:

      The Secret Six.

      A fantastic, well written series by Gail Simone.


    You know, you are almost right, except for that last issue where Gail wrote for Bane... the biggest, strongest, smartest bad ass on the team, to have sex with the cute red head. Yeah, she wrote herself having sex with Bane. Internet slash fiction at it's worst.

    It was completely out of character for him to do that. Bane, under every other writer who had handled him, and I liked the character in that I followed his appearances enough to know this, has never showed a sexual interest in ANYONE until Gail Simone got a hold of him.


Dude, your psychoanalysis of Gail Simone is kind of outstanding. You're like the Dr. Hugo Strange to Gail Simone.



@BackoftheHead

www.backofthehead.com
Scottyflamingo
Bratwurst








Since: 23.6.10
From: Auburn, AL

Since last post: 405 days
Last activity: 133 days
#10 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.77
    Originally posted by Cerebus
    The Killing Joke was a truly great book and a product of it's time, however, having Barbara stay paralyzed because of a gunshot is also a 'product of it's time'. With today's modern medicine, she should be able to walk.


Tell that to Christopher Reeve.

I'm no doctor, but it is my understanding that the longer you are paralyzed the less likely you are coming out of it.

PS. If we are gonna stick to this format, someone can kill my Detective thread. Probably easier that way.
El Nastio
Andouille








Since: 14.1.02
From: Ottawa Ontario, by way of Walkerton

Since last post: 6 days
Last activity: 3 hours
ICQ:  
#11 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.87
    Originally posted by Cerebus
      Originally posted by El Nastio
      There are three words which will completely shatter your entire post:

      The Secret Six.

      A fantastic, well written series by Gail Simone.


    You know, you are almost right, except for that last issue where Gail wrote for Bane... the biggest, strongest, smartest bad ass on the team, to have sex with the cute red head. Yeah, she wrote herself having sex with Bane. Internet slash fiction at it's worst.

    It was completely out of character for him to do that. Bane, under every other writer who had handled him, and I liked the character in that I followed his appearances enough to know this, has never showed a sexual interest in ANYONE until Gail Simone got a hold of him.


Did you read the series at all? There was established characterization that Bane was becoming softer emotionally. Such as taking on a paternal role towards Scandal, no longer taking venom, and other such items. Over 36 issues we see Bane transform, and near the end of the volume, after he has sex with the girl, we eventually see him understand that he will then cut out the emotional elements in his life. Including Scandal, his "daughter".

Oh, and the girl was introduced earlier in the series and not just in the last issue, if I'm not mistaken (I'm not).

Saying something like you said:

"Catman, under every other writer who had handled him, and I liked the character in that I followed his appearances enough to know this, has never showed anything resembling being a total badass until Gail Simone got a hold of him".



After a (very) long hiatus, I have begun to write again. And this time, I'm not alone!

Click Here (basisgames.blogspot.com) to check out Basis Games - Video Game/Console Reviews, Commentaries, and Analysis. Check it out!
John Orquiola
Scrapple








Since: 28.2.02
From: Boston

Since last post: 60 days
Last activity: 60 days
#12 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.43
Well. I kept my dislike of Justice League International to a minimum, but Devin at Badass Digest (badassdigest.com) went further and said everything I was thinking. I'm 100,000% in agreement. About the book, about Dan Jurgens, about everything.



@BackoftheHead

www.backofthehead.com
Cerebus
Knackwurst








Since: 17.11.02

Since last post: 29 days
Last activity: 2 days
#13 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.03
http://digthatbox.com/comic_review_justice_league_1.html

Here's a interesting review, though kinda late (blame the webmaster), of Justice League #1.

It's a cool site, I go there often.



Forget it Josh... it's Cerebustown.
Scottyflamingo
Bratwurst








Since: 23.6.10
From: Auburn, AL

Since last post: 405 days
Last activity: 133 days
#14 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.77
Honestly, I'm tired of the entire "Universe" concept. Don't get me wrong, I am looking forward to the Avengers like everyone else, but I think there are a lot of negatives to the whole thing.

One of the reasons that I like Nolan's Batman movies is that they are their own universe. Very little Supernatural is going on there. No aliens, or demons, or new gods. Just Batman and his cast of characters.

But if you like a more realistic Batman, you are out of luck when it comes to comics. Even if you skip out on books like Brave and the Bold and JLA, it is pretty impossible to avoid the less realistic elements when Bruce Wayne is killed by a magic time bullet.
Mike Zeidler
Pepperoni








Since: 27.6.02

Since last post: 15 days
Last activity: 1 hour
#15 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.29
I just don't understand the need to bring loads of realism into escapist fiction.



"Tattoos are the mullets of the aughts." - Mike Naimark
Scottyflamingo
Bratwurst








Since: 23.6.10
From: Auburn, AL

Since last post: 405 days
Last activity: 133 days
#16 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.77
    Originally posted by Mike Zeidler
    I just don't understand the need to bring loads of realism into escapist fiction.


Because part of enjoying it is suspension of disbelief. If you read Batman, you are already suspending disbelief in believing that a guy can have that level of training and those wonderful toys. With a Universe setting, each layer streches your disbelief. Add Superman and Green Lantern and you've got aliens and robots. Add Wonder Woman and you've got ancient gods. Add Zatanna and you've got magic. Good writers can juggle them, but more often than not it is a mess (that we've had a half a dozen events try to clean up over the past 25 years).
Mike Zeidler
Pepperoni








Since: 27.6.02

Since last post: 15 days
Last activity: 1 hour
#17 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.29
So why not read Batman as just Batman? The only one imposing a universal view on the comics is the reader (outside of crossover tie-ins of course)

Everyone mentions the various Crises that have supposedly taken place to "clean up" DC's continuity, but there have only been two corrections, Crisis and Zero Hour.

It's the fanbase that became more vocal about continuity until they became the driving force behind the comics, distancing the more casual fans with their ming-mong ways.



"Tattoos are the mullets of the aughts." - Mike Naimark
Scottyflamingo
Bratwurst








Since: 23.6.10
From: Auburn, AL

Since last post: 405 days
Last activity: 133 days
#18 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.77
    Originally posted by Mike Zeidler
    So why not read Batman as just Batman? The only one imposing a universal view on the comics is the reader (outside of crossover tie-ins of course)

    Everyone mentions the various Crises that have supposedly taken place to "clean up" DC's continuity, but there have only been two corrections, Crisis and Zero Hour.

    It's the fanbase that became more vocal about continuity until they became the driving force behind the comics, distancing the more casual fans with their ming-mong ways.


Pretty much already explained why you can't "just read Batman". Don't know what else to say.

Events that changed DC Universe

1. Crisis
2. Zero Hour
3. Infinate Crisis
4. 52
5. Flashpoint

So maybe half a dozen was an exagerration...you know since I was ONE off.
Mike Zeidler
Pepperoni








Since: 27.6.02

Since last post: 15 days
Last activity: 1 hour
#19 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.29
So you're saying you can't read just the Bat-titles because you don't want to? Perhaps it's because you want to be able to complain?

Infinite Crisis created a new multiverse, but didn't really change any previous continuity, 52 didn't change anything, but I'll give you Flashpoint (until it's revealed to be one of the other earths in the multiverse.)

ETA:
I think what it boils down to for me is if something bugs you about "continuity" just ignore it. You'll lead a much happier life. As for suspension of disbelief, shouldn't the more fantastical elements of the shared universe make Batman more believable? If he were a singular entity fighting crime and inventing his "toys" would it really make it better? I mean, wouldn't he just be James Bond in a silly costume?

(edited by Mike Zeidler on 14.9.11 0954)


"Tattoos are the mullets of the aughts." - Mike Naimark
Thread rated: 4.65
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: Thrillers, war books, spy books, cop books
Next thread: Archie meets KISS
Previous thread: Detective Comics #1
(169 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
I've seen a couple of old Marvel comics in my collection being credited to someone named "Ricko th' Sicko", and I was curious if the person's real name was known ...
- Alessandro, Who is Ricko the Sicko? (2005)
Related threads: Detective Comics #1 - Action Comics #1 - The New DC Universe Begins - More...
The W - Print - 52 Week 2 Reviews (spoilers)Register and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.096 seconds.